Books to Read in 2011 ~ PART II

21 Jan

Alrighty then, today, as promised, I’m following up my previous blog post (Books to Read in 2011 ~ PART I) with this post! Here are numbers 4-7 :

Beastly by Alex Flinn

What you’ll learn:

Character arch. This book has one of the most dramatic and understandable character arches I’ve seen to date. Not only is Flinn’s voice extremely charming and classic, but the message she sends is important too. The story is very loosely based upon the classic “Beauty and the Beast” tale but is told from the beast’s (AKA a rich handsome young man who is basically a narcissistic jerk turned beast) POV and follows his story from brat to gentlemen. I loved this book and not only is it a fun quirky read but you’ll also learn something along the way if you are looking for it!

Tell Me More!

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

What you’ll learn:

How to weave perfect prose into plot. Maggie Stiefvater is one of the most descriptive and eloquent YA writers I’ve seen. EVER. Shiver is absolutely gorgeous every line reads like the lyrics to a song, but all the while your totally engaged in this fantastic modern fantasy. This book is defiantly one of my all time favorites, and I don’t say that lightly. I’ve read A LOT of books. Anyway, if you want to learn how to make a metaphor shine or how to make a scene come to life Maggie’s your girl. BEST PROSE WRITING EVER. <3

Tell Me More!

The Chosen One by Carol Williams

What you’ll learn:

How to get inside a character’s head and stay there. Carol Williams instant classic The Chosen One is a moving work of fiction all about a young girl being raised in the Mormon Church, and her attempts to be wed to a boy her age, that she’s grown to love. Sadly, as you can imagine, things don’t work out as planned. The emotional struggles in this book come across almost too clearly. Crawling inside Kyra’s head was a wonderful experience for me. This book was a very moving read and should defiantly be put on the list of any writer who wants to see how to make emotions come across loud and clear. (That should be everyone am I right?)

 Tell Me More!

13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher

What you’ll learn:

How to create strong and distinctive voice. “Wow…” those were my exact words after I closed the cover on this one. This book left me breathless, kind of sad, and most of all just plain abashed. The eerie voice of Hannah Baker haunts you long after you’re done with the book. This book perfectly portrays the sadness and overwhelming feelings of loneliness felt by Hannah, and though Asher is not a girl or a teen, he still managed to nail Hannah’s unforgiving sarcasm, pitch perfect heart ache, and desperation, as she records her final words. Beautiful and heart wrenching, this is a book for anyone, anywhere that’s been in Hannah’s place or has caused someone to be in her place. A truly thought provoking story.

Tell Me More!

The Final installment for Books to Read in 2011 is coming soon! Be sure to check out the TELL ME MORE links, there are some really cool websites for these books.

Happy Reading!

7 Responses to “Books to Read in 2011 ~ PART II”

  1. Tyra Friday February 11, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    some really marvellous work on behalf of the owner of this site, dead great written content .

    • nkeda14 February 12, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

      Thank you! I am so glad you like the site! I hope you come back for more soon.

  2. Renea Pinter February 11, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    I don’t commonly comment but I gotta admit thankyou for the post on this one : D.

    • nkeda14 February 12, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

      Well I am glad you spoke up Renea Pinter! Your welcome for the post, I hope to hear more from you!

  3. Marge Buchannan February 14, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    I am impressed with this web site , really I am a big fan .

  4. Cristin Machel February 14, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    I your writing style really loving this web site .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Books To Read 2011 | AllGraphicsOnline.com - March 16, 2011

    […] (Books to Read in 2011 novelideaslifeofateenwriter.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

