An Interview with My Critique Partner

22 Dec

So as I had promised I am now going to share with you some words from the ever so lovely Mrs. Carolyn Strassell AKA my critique partner (and owner of my sister blog “The Waters Edge”.)

I hope you enjoy my interview!

Hello there fellow writer how are you today?

🙂 Wonderful!

How long have you been writing?

since as far back as I can remember! about 6 I think

What are you writing right now?
The key word here is Trying;) to write A YA fiction called Afflatus.

Could you give us a little teaser of what you are writing now? Pretty Please!

LOL ok:

“Kale Gripped the hard jagged rock wall in her small hands, She could feel herself slipping, and it wasn’t just from the rock. Taking a harsh breath in she moved her foot trying to find a stronger edge to rest herself on.”Just, keep going” She said aloud. Pressing her face against the hot rock “Don’t stop”. Pulling all the strength that she had from somewhere inside her she pushed up the last few feet to the top. letting out a sigh of relief once her feet hit the level ground. Gazing over the wooded terrain below Kale’s eyes took in what had once been a place that held the feeling of safety this place held the lingering air of death. Feeling the hair stand up on the back of her neck, she moved her hand to the sword the hung from a leather belt around the waist. the hard metal felt cool as she gripped the handle.
Suddenly a shrill ring filled the air, the alarm, a call to war. Tearing her eyes from the valley before her Kale made her way from the clearing into the dense forest. As she neared the trees began to move. This would have not been strange had there been wind…….there wasn’t any, not even a breeze. Pushing forward Kale laid her hand once again on her sword. The battle was coming, even the trees knew it as they continued to sway from side to side. Almost like they were trying to run from the on coming storm.”

Who are some of the writers that inspire you? What aspects of their writing do you try to apply your own? How?

My Friend Katie Wiland, Mark Twain, Jane Austin, ect….They Truly bring the people in their books to life, and that is what I hope to do. Leave you with a little sad feeling that the book is over because the characters were so real you grew to love them.

Some author’s say they have to get to know there characters before they write, do you feel you have to do this? If you do what do you do to accomplish this?

I feel that I get to know my people as I write about them, it’s just like going to visit someone that lives far away. The more you visit the more you know them.

Who is your favorite character to write and why?
I like to write the more complex characters. Ones that you never quite get till the end of the book.

Do you write with music? If you do why and what is your “theme” song right now?
Most of the time yes. Right now its “Send me a Song ” by Lisa Kelly it is like the them song for the end of my book. Sweet and sad at the same time.

Do you write other things while writing your novel? Flash fiction/other books?

Yes. It helps to get out of the story that you have been working on 24/7. You get a new out look on things.

What is the hardest thing for you to personally write?

The middle! I HATE writing the middle of the book 😛 Ha

What would you say is your interesting writing quirk?
I tend to get up and walk around the room, write something…walk around the room…and so on.

A lot of people think that writers get there ideas from the magical glitter that falls from the sky when we sleep, Where do you get your ideas?

A little bit of everywhere, mostly in my strange mind.

When you’re writing do you have to do a lot of research? What do you use to research? What have you researched recently?

Yes, I just finished doing some on weapons of the 1400’s.

What do you enjoy most about writing?

The freedom that we have to create our own world! It’s truly magic!

When do you think your current novel will be complete?
With any luck….Late summer of 2011!

Finally I just have to ask how bad do first drafts suck?! How are you going to go about editing yours? How does your first draft compare to your finished writing?

YUCK!!! Oh I can’t stand them,  but they have to be apart of the whole book deal. LOTS of red pencils.

My first and final draft are like night and day! The first is like a whole different book from the final draft.

4 Responses to “An Interview with My Critique Partner”

  1. Writers Unite December 22, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    Awesome site! Check out mine? http://writersunite.webnode.com

    • nkeda14 January 2, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

      sure 😀 thanks for coming to my blog hope you stop by again soon!

  2. thewatersedgecarrie December 22, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

    hmmmm she sounds smart;) thee thee

  3. nkeda14 December 23, 2010 at 2:43 am #

    Yes yes she does! LOL

Leave a Reply

