I Always Forget That I Like My Novel

14 Feb

I do. I know this sounds insane but it’s true.

To illustrate what I’m talking about lets examine what I did today:

I got up

Ate jelly toast

Logged onto email

Decided I should write some of my novel today

Replied to Writers group email

Edited one of my writer friends pieces

Checked wordpress dashboard

Thought that I should get off the internet and write

Stayed on the internet to compile a playlist on playlist.com

Ate lunch

Finally opened word doc.

Opened playlist to go with novel

Turned on music

Let the dog outside and decided I needed to go for a walk

Went for a walk

Came back inside and reread last three pages

FINALLLY wrote a paragraph

Wrote 5 pages and meet quota

 

And that my friends, is on a good day. All day I was procrastinating. (As many of you know I am awesome at that.)

You see, lately I hadn’t written a thing in my WIP. I was getting so bogged down with the idea of how much it sucked, how I would never finish, and how I needed to characterize my love interest more, and so on and so forth. So I braked… and the longer I waited the more I dreaded opening it back up and remembering how horrid it was.

When I finally reopened it and reread what I had written I realized something. It wasn’t that terrible… Infact some of it was actually pretty darn good!

So I wrote, and I remembered how much I love my novel! How much I love Violet, Jett, Evilli, and all my broken misery bound characters.

Does anyone else get this way with their novel? Or is it just me?

4 Responses to “I Always Forget That I Like My Novel”

  1. Martin February 15, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    YES!!!!!!!!! You know the book that i am writing, The Z Day, well one day i just gave up completely on it. I just thought it sucked and i was never going to finish it. Now i love my book after i start writing again. You see, no writing for one week for me is kind of boring so i was looking over my computer and found that file, i opened it and read it. I then had a sudden though about what should happen next and soon i was off writing again. I completely understand you!!!!
    thezday.yolasite.com

    • nkeda14 February 15, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

      Thank goodness! I thought I was a total physco for a moment there. I wonder why this happens? Hmmm… sure is something to think about.

  2. Liz Hellebuyck February 17, 2011 at 3:57 am #

    I like this post. I feel like this a lot about my WIP. This post reminds me that I actually do like it once I finally pick it back up. It is so hard to pick it back up though sometimes.

    • nkeda14 February 17, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      HAHA tell me about it. Getting off a schedule with it can make it hard to dive back in.

Leave a Reply

