Death By Book Trailer

19 Feb

Seriously people how many times have you read a book, googled the trailer afterward, and found that it totally sucks? I say this in the nicest way possible. But, come one you’d think that if they were going to do a book trailer they’d at least do a decent job.

Granted, some book trailers are good, but a lot of them look like those “15” minute Geico commercials. You know the ones with the rounded off characters with robo voices? Yeah those.

I’m just saying that some trailers (especially YA trailers) could have been made a bit better.  I just don’t understand how some of the creators seemed to think they’d do their books justice.

Honestly, it seems like some trailers will drive away more readers than pick them up. Just my opinion here, but since I like to argue my point throughly I’ll give you some examples.

I have bellow the (believe it or not) “official” book trailer for Graceling by Kristen Cashore. Great book. Bad, bad trailer.

Come on now tell me that wasn’t just the tiniest bit cheesy?

You have to wonder where they find these people.

Now, because I’m not a hater, I’m also going to give you a good YA book trailer. 

 I mean they aren’t all bad right?

Granted, it’s not perfect. The actors aren’t spot on, but  next to the first trailer, it’s movie magic!

HAHA ,anyway, that was my little rant about how book trailer makers need to be whipped into shape. What do you guys think? Should I make one for my WIP and post it?

2 Responses to “Death By Book Trailer”

  1. thewatersedgecarrie February 26, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    hahahh so true 😛 if the book trailer is bad then it’s not going to help the book sell one bit:P lol

    • nkeda14 February 26, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      true dat’ Carrie! lol

Leave a Reply

