Taking Leave of Your Senses by Carolyn Strassell~ GUEST POST III

26 Feb

Rounding out our Guest posts for this month is my fabulous and funny Crit. Partner Carrie! I almost didn’t post this as it was so amazingly witty that I was afraid she’d steal my thunder. But, that wouldn’t be very fair to my readers now would it? No, it wouldn’t. So, out of the goodness of my heart I present a very witty guest post from Carolyn Strassell.

Taking Leave of Your Senses

How are we connected to this world of fantasy that we only find when we put the pen to the page, or in this case fingers to keyboard.

Our minds can take us to the many places that we my never see for ourselves in the world. I think that as writers we overlook and sometime totally forget how to take our readers to that place that we so often reside in. As the authors of these stories we are the ones that know everything, and I mean all the dirty stuff, ins and outs,up side down banana splits of our plot and story line. At times I forget that as a writer I need to go deeper into the characters senses, all five of them to be exact.

This is the one real link that both the writer and the reader have in common, both know the five senses these five strings although tangled at times can connect us both to the story. I have learned that in my own writing I need to really go through all the five senses of my character that I am creating, so that my readers can touch, taste, smell, hear and see the world that my character lives in. Here are two examples below showing just how inportant it is to bring the Fantastic Five in on the fun.

#1. Leann wished that she could just disappear into the fog that surrounded her and blend in with the forest. Maybe if she did then she could just leave it all behind her. Maybe if she did then she wouldn’t remember….remember any of it.

Not very good I know, but that’s kinda the point here. Now example number two.

#2. Lean wished that she could just disappear into the fog, it was so dense that she could almost taste it’s thickness on her tongue. The soft crushing of damp leaves under her shoes seamed to echo in the darkend forest. Almost as if she was the only person left…..maybe she was? it felt like it.

Taking a moment to catch her breath she leaned against a large oak tree, the ruff bark sent chills up her spine. Maybe if she just became part of the fog then she wouldn’t remember, all of sudden a strong odor filled her nose, blood. The one thing that she would never forget.

I hope that I brought out the Fantastic five enough in the example to show you just how much it can help make your world more real then ever, as if the reader is part of it.

The best advice that I can give you is to pull the Skeleton out of the closet. I know what you are thinking right now, “crazy woman writer with the green glasses why would I want to do that?” the whole point of having a closet is to hide one in DUH!

In any other case I would say you are right, this is true. However, right now I am talking about the Skeleton of the Five Senses. The only reason to have one of these is to bring it out and SCARE some people with it! So I will leave you now with a dare. I dare you to pull that skeleton of the five senses out of the closet of your mind and send it onto the pages of your writing. Send your readers some chills and thrills. Have a little fun and scare some people out of their senses.

Happy Writing! ❤

-Carolyn

3 Responses to “Taking Leave of Your Senses by Carolyn Strassell~ GUEST POST III”

  1. wovenstrands February 28, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    This is great Advise. The way we experience anything is usually with our senses, so for us to be able to ignite our readers imagination and take them a further step by loosing their selves in the story, we need to incorporate their senses.
    I loved this post Ally I wish you had a link to her blog or web page 🙂

    • nkeda14 March 3, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

      Carrie doesn’t really blog often. :C Though I try to keep on her! LOL Perhaps we should nag her until she gets with it huh?

  2. wovenstrands March 3, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    Hehe sounds good to me 😀

Leave a Reply

