Respect? What Respect?

27 Feb

Sorry but this is going to be a rant. You know what, never mind, what the heck, I’m not sorry at all. Because this needs to be said, and by god I’m going to be the one to say it. Obviously no one else seems to want to disrupt the teeny-bopper brain fog so I will.

To begin, so you see how justified the following rant will be let me give you a little bit of modern teen culture:

Nice legs, Daisy dukes,
Makes a man go whoo-whoo
That’s the way they all come through
Like whoo-whoo whoo-whoo
Low-cut, see-through shirts That make you whoo-whoo
That’s the way she come through
Like whoo-whoo whoo-whoo

Tight jeans, Double D’s Makin’ me go whoo-whoo
All the people on the street Know whoo-whoo

~3OH3! Starstrukk

Seriously What the Heck is going on with that?! What does that say to teen girls about body image and not letting themselves be objectified?

I mean, I’m no feminist, if a guy wants to open a door for me, or carry my books, go on ahead, but this… it makes me sick.

Girls today, think that being objectified somehow makes them better. Like their worth less if they don’t fit into the above criteria. Do they want to be made a piece of meat? Really? That’s what you want to do with your life?

Let’s face it, most YA literature is NOT helping. We have all these female protagonist that break down into a depressed pile of sludge when their 100 year old mythical creature leaves them! (You all know what I’m talking about right?) Then there’s the protagonist *ahem* who lets themselves fall prey to what ever is around and just hopes the supernatural “hawteee” steps in.

Please! Really? This is what we want young girls growing up thinking they have to be?

Personally I think (the majority of) YA needs to pull it together, and promote some YA fiction with strong female protagonist. That means they don’t weep under the slightest twinge from their Werewolf boyfriend!

I’m not saying that the girl needs to be all macho and tomboy. But, can’t she fight for herself? Or have a life outside the mysterious bad boy that has suddenly popped into her existence? Or even stand for something other than falling into danger so said “hawt bad boy” can save her? I mean look at Elizabeth in pride in prejudice she never shot a gun but was a strong INDEPNEDENTLY MINDED female! Where did the Elizabeth’s go?

Where did the Sarah Connors go? (You know the Terminator Mom?) I mean just look at her, she is bad, and John didn’t even get a gun! That right there is what I’m talking about!

From one of my personal Favorites, "The Sarah Connor Chronicles" I mean seriously she gets TWO guns, if thats not female toughness I don't know what is.

I don’t mean to sound so aggressive, but I feel very strongly about this. I mean where is the respect? Where are the tough independent female characters?

These authors are not helping our girls, understand that they shouldn’t have to be objectified to be liked. That they should be respected.

Am I being over dramatic or do you all agree?

PS:

 I know not all YA authors are like this.

Infact I would like to thank Kristen Cashore for her two strong female protagonists Katsa, and Fire right now, and Also my Crit. Partner Carrie, for sharing my stance on this matter, and making sure her YA portrays the kind of girls we should all be.

Thank you to all writers, who have made it a point to make strong female characters.

4 Responses to “Respect? What Respect?”

  1. thewatersedgecarrie February 27, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    (((CLAPS A LOT))) well done my dear!!and may i say well said:)
    You hit the nail on the head………im not feminist
    at all but it does break my heart and really makes me mad when so many people write about the women in books as if they are so helpless.
    As you put it objects, cannot take care of anything,and most of the time are just plain stupid:P Ar mad again.
    Sadley I think that what has been written at any point in time reflects on the cluture of the day. I think that they are being taught today that that is all women are and that the only thing inportion and deep about them is their looks:( how sad 😦 They are created for so much more then that:)and have the chance to prove it.
    ok ok now im done ranting too:) lol
    xoxox thanks dear:)

    • nkeda14 February 28, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      I Know right!!! ERRGG Society makes me so made sometimes!

  2. wovenstrands February 28, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    Not just Like, I Love!!! Well said sweetheart.

    • nkeda14 February 28, 2011 at 4:54 pm #

      Thanks, LOL I just had to get this out of my system. I heard that song on the radio, and I don’t know why, but it really ticked me off.

Leave a Reply

