Seven Things on a Sunday

20 Mar

So today’s post is about my current WIP “Guard My Heart” since I’ve been getting some questions about said WIP. Why seven you ask? Well, because it sounded best with Sunday and also because it is my favorite number. So, here goes nothing. Seven things about Guard My Heart. (Here on referred to as GMH.)

  1. GMH is a dystopian YA novel.
  2. It takes place in the USA about 250 years from present day. The US had formed

    Evilli Modeling "Guardians" - Fall collection (hehe)

    into a utopian society, ruled by a king and a group called the Guardians. (Or the “peacekeepers”). But only a hundred years after the establishment of this “Utopia” it fell into chaos for reasons I will not reveal! Hehe evil me

  3. My main character Violet is part of a secret “resistance” to the new ruling class.
  4. The “Guardians” have some kick-tush uniforms as you can see to the right. I’m not the best artist but come on they are pretty bad right?
  5. My MC (Violet) has some serious emotional issues, some of which involve detachment, insomnia, and abandonment: D (Yeah! Aren’t those always the fun ones to write?  LOL)
  6. GMH contains a hostile girlfriend of Violets love interest. (she’s the one modeling our lovely uniform if you care to note) Her name happens to be Evilli Bowden.
  7. GMH is multiple POV. One from my MC Violet, and the second from an “inner city dweller” named Skye. This allows us a lovely view of the carnage that strikes the inner city while Violet is off planning her suicide mission! (O my I’ve said too much… but yes I really do mean SUICIDE mission.)

I hope you enjoy contemplating theses facts while you stare at my rather sketchy drawing (Ha-ha… yeah that pun was intended)

Anyone else want to lay down seven things about their novel/WIP?

4 Responses to “Seven Things on a Sunday”

  1. juanvillagrana March 21, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Ah! I love dystopia! I’m pretty sure I would read something like this. It soudns so fresh and amazing.
    My WIP is also in multiple POVs, but it’s in the third person so I alternate between three characters every couple of chapters.

    • nkeda14 March 21, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      Ha thanks for saying so. It still needs a lot of work… eh… make that a lot a lot of work.

      I love multiple POV, though some find it annoying. If done correctly I think it keeps readers on their toes 😀 !

      • juanvillagrana March 21, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

        I know what you mean! I stress myself out just thinking about everything I’ll need to fix in my future drafts!
        I think my favorite example of an amazing multiple-POV book would have to be WICKED LOVELY.

  2. nkeda14 March 22, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Ha yes! LOVE that book… the sequels seemed to drag a bit for me though.

Leave a Reply

