I HATE YOU! No, Wait… I Think I Love You. Right?

21 Mar

 This is probably just me, (like always) but I am having these ridiculous mood swings with my manuscript. At least that’s what I think you’d call them. Is their any other name for it? Nope, mood swings is as close as it gets.

I’m not sure if it’s happening because I’m drawing toward the end of my first draft, and I’m going to have trouble detaching (because I will, it happens EVERY time). Or, maybe it’s just because I’m coming up against the fact that it needs SO much work. Gosh my stomach is rolling just thinking about it. (Excuse me a second while I go find a bucket and a few breathe mints.)

Anyway, I’m having a love/hate battle with myself, at the moment.

Yesterday, everything was all hunky-dory (please be kind enough to excuse the dorky language) I was on a roll. My Muse was cooperating; my conflict’s close was just in sight and…. BAM! Next thing I know I’m staring into the bottomless hole of impending editing, being laughed at by the NYT bestsellers list.

I have issues. You don’t have to tell me, I already know.

Anyone else Hate/Love their WIP right now?

8 Responses to “I HATE YOU! No, Wait… I Think I Love You. Right?”

  1. wovenstrands March 21, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

    Sorry to hear that love. How about you go play dressup on my blog!! it’ll get your mind off of your WIP for a bit. ;D

    • nkeda14 March 21, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

      EEEP just saw that! Now I must officially go spazz and tear up my closet!

  2. Liz Hellebuyck March 22, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    I am having the same love hate issues with my wip right now. In the editing stage I am rewriting the first chapter and I love/hate the process!

    But if I didn’t go through the hating, I think the loving part wouldn’t be so much fun.

    (Yeah, I am trying to stay positive, but I don’t know if it worked or not.) 😉

    • nkeda14 March 22, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

      haha nice to know i’m not the only one! I was beginning to worry I was going a little wack-o… well more than I was to begin with anyway! lol

  3. Sonia M. March 22, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    Ah yes, I know the love-hate relationship with one’s manuscript very, very well. Sigh

    • nkeda14 March 23, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

      Hey at least we are there together right? haha 😀

  4. HaleyWhitehall March 23, 2011 at 12:55 am #

    This is normal. I think it is because we all dread the editing process. At least I know that why I hate all my manuscripts. You just have to enjoy the writing process while it lasts and then grit your teeth and edit. Once I get in the swing of editing I can actually have fun with it because I see my story getting better and better.

    • nkeda14 March 23, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

      Yeah that’s true. Though I LOVE editing. Like you said its getting there and realizing that it will become better that is the fun part. The hashing it out seems to bog me down though.

Leave a Reply

