The Blues, Some Swans, and a Mantra

29 Mar

First draft blues, are weighin’ me down. You all probably think I have them 24/7 considering how much I whine. I know its pathetic, but I don’t get to do much whining.

Having the blues made me think  about my “mantra”, it’s what I use to get through the downs. I know a lot of other writers suffer from this too, and I thought I’d share my little pearl of wisdom. After all, if the internet is going to allow me to put in my two cents, I’m sure as heck going to give it!

So here it is folks, one of the most valuable pieces of  advice I’ve received through out my writing “career” (if you want to call it that).

Don’t get it RIGHT, get it WRITTEN

I think, too often we confuse, the words Write, and Right. They aren’t one in the same. But, for some reason “writers” think they need to be “righters” and every word they write needs to be right.

But, as with many things this isn’t the case. The reality of it is that you  can not expect every word you write to be right. The absurdity of it is almost comical. Granted, we all, at times anyway, forget this, and fall into “the first (or second or third or fourth…) draft blues”.  But you just have to remember that not everything you perceive as a reality is an actuality .

 (sorry guys, I’m really not trying to rhyme here!)

Understanding , and reminding yourself that you are not going to have everything (or in my case the majority of things) right the first time will keep you going. It’s incredibly (most don’t realize how incredibly) important it is to give yourself the freedom to be wrong. To write rubbish. To type up things that may not make any sense at all. Giving yourself this freedom will not only allow you to loosen up, and be less stressed when writing, but will also promote new ways of thinking, and learning.

New neurological pathways, will just be springing up all over the place! BAM there goes a fresh leafy green idea!

I mean honestly, do you think that beautiful things start out in splendor?

Take the swan for example. Baby swans are extremely awkward. They are all gray-brown, and gangly, their eyes look to small for their heads, and their feathers are all falling out to make room for new ones.

Next to a fully realized Swan that baby ends up looking down right homely. But, it doesn’t matter. You know why? Because regardless of what it looks like now that “ugly duckling”  is going to become an elegant swan. Sweeping white feathers, black lined eyes, and all.

But it didn’t start out beautiful. Nothing ever does.

What I’m saying is you have to get over the fact that your manuscript is ugly, brown, and down right mangy. Because, if you can get past that now, and give it time to grow you’ll end up with something beautiful. Something fully realized.

Just keep humming along to The Don’t get it right get it written song 😀

Do you guys have a mantra that keeps you going? Or are you dealing with the blues?

7 Responses to “The Blues, Some Swans, and a Mantra”

  1. juanvillagrana March 30, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Ah! I’m going through a minor case of second draft blues. I love that little mantra you added up there, very clever and motivational. And I love the comparison you made with the swans.
    This post is actually very helpful and inspirational, not gonna lie.
    =)

    • nkeda14 March 31, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

      LOL glad you think so.
      Swans make me smile, plus the metaphor was workin’ pretty good. It just kind of happened:D

  2. Liz Hellebuyck March 31, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    “The perfect is the enemy of the fast.
    The good is the enemy of the fast.
    The halfway decent is the enemy of the fast.”

    -Gail Carson Levine

    This is my mantra for first drafts.

    I like the swan metaphor. I think it will work for me on my 4th (or whatever I am at now) draft!

    • nkeda14 April 1, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

      😀 I like that one 😀 i’ll have to put that one on my laptop case. I have sticky notes and such that have mine on it already. Good luck with your drafting!

  3. Jennifer Mandelas April 1, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Ah, so true. I always look at my drafts and wonder why my manuscripts are always so long!

    • nkeda14 April 1, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

      haha same. I seem to ramble on a bit in my first drafts. That leads to a lot of cutting later!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Interview with Ally! | Of a Writerly Sort - August 16, 2011

    […] Ally: … Gee, I’ve had A LOT of good writing advice dished at me, but I’d have to say that “DON’T GET IT RIGHT GET IT WRITTEN” would be the best piece of advice I’ve ever gotten. That is my mantra throughout every piece of writing I’ve ever done. Otherwise I find it hard to move one. I tend to have a bit of an OCD streak and if the words aren’t flowing I always want to edit! I even wrote an entire post on it HERE(https://novelideaslifeofateenwriter.wordpress.com/2011/03/29/the-blues-some-swans-and-a-mantra/) […]

Leave a Reply

