Living In Nowhere… Getting Somewhere

8 Apr

I live in a kind of nowhere. That’s not to say I live in a small town. I mean at least that would have some personality, some SHA ZAM… nope, I live in a small suburban wasteland a while out from Cincinnati. It’s one of those towns that you’ve  passed through a million times.  A thousand hundred billion exist just like them. Half siding/half brick two stories with one tree in the front yard all lined up in a neat little loop.

It’s so painfully ordinary, so dreadfully the same that it’s just nothing. A blur on a highway exit sign, a community of people who buzz in and out of the city like bees buzzing to the hive and back to the flower.

When you live in nowhere you have to wonder how your going to get out.

As a writer, I want to go places. Naturally, anything slightly different or foreign peeks my intrest. But the “Nowhere vortex” is always sucking you in. Trying to pull you under and force you to conform to becoming a neat little worker bee.

But, that isn’t me.

Writing, regardless of what everyone else says, or thinks for that matte,  is important to me. It’s always been a way for me to get somewhere. ANYWHERE. That outlet, especially in my blase little suburban hub is extremely enticing.

After highschool, i’m so out of here. I’d like to go to college, get my degree in teaching, get my books published.

I know it doesn’t matter where you write, but insporation is a little lacking in “grayville”. Any of you living there?

8 Responses to “Living In Nowhere… Getting Somewhere”

  1. wovenstrands April 8, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I wish the best little bee ;D

  2. juanvillagrana April 9, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    Well, at least you live in the city lol. I live in some tiny rural town in California, the town where you know all your neighbors and everyone’s related and the high school is incredibly small. Of course, I’m not related to anyone here but my siblings since we sadly moved here five years ago.
    I know what you mean when you say you want to get out. My parents kind of object, though. Especially my mother dearest, who thinks it’s better for me to stay here and drive from home to college as supposed to renting an apartment closer to said college. This calls for hard-hitting statistics.

    • nkeda14 April 9, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      LOL wow are mom’s sound the same! Just last night mine was all “I only have two more years with you” *TEARS AND SUCH* “you should just go to college at UK or UC so you can be close”… right. I don’t think so. My best bet is getting a scholarship out of here!

      Good luck getting out!

  3. peacesigngirl21 April 10, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I live in a small town in Tennessee…with a crime rate that may surprise you… I’ve wondered what it would be like to live in a city, but I don’t mind staying where I am. It’s occasionally peaceful here.

    • nkeda14 April 10, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

      😀 I love TN I go down to lake Noris in the summers and go tubing! That is always fun. At least your happy where you are. I think I just have the travel bug.

  4. Liz Hellebuyck April 10, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Someone asked me where I lived while I was in Europe traveling. I told her Minneapolis.

    “Which coast is that on?” she asked.

    There is L.A, New York City, and Nowhere (where the rest of us live).

    • nkeda14 April 10, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

      Haha! You see what I mean. My dad travels to the middle east for his job a lot, and when people asks where he lives and he says “Ohio”. They go “O is that near California?”

      Talk about nowhere!

Leave a Reply

