I Am Having Problems… *SIGH*

17 Apr

So how does it feel? Knowing I’m on my last leg of GMH and that I’m this close:

l l

to reaching the finish? It should feel great right? I mean I should be so excited, and I am! But for some reason, its been getting super hard to write… maybe it’s because I kind of know that my MC (violet) is probably going to be unhappy with the ending, and because I’m not happy with the ending or the supposed ending…

Yeah, either way both of us are unhappy. You see when I started out writing Guard My Heart. I had one thought in my head (and it had nothing to do with Violet or what happened to her or even who she was) It was about Archer (a guardian gone wrong, )and how he’d taken over this utopian society that he had fought so hard to defend. But, when that society turned on him he destroyed it. (No I can’t tell you what the society did to him to make him go physco rouge)

Anyway, after I had that thought in my head I realized that it was a great set up for Violets story. But originally it wasn’t her’s at all. It was Archers. To be completely honest I’ve even considered writing a prequel to GMH called Raffelisia that centers around Archer and his past.  But, the problem I’m running into (with the ending at least) is that  I am constantly nagged by the thought of Archer, and how he’s such a… a motivational sickeningly interesting character.  That the ending needs to bring closure to him. My original plan, for reasons (of course) I can not explain, was to end him.

That would wrap this up nice and tight!Violet will get what she wants and the society will be all peace and happiness! I thought. And then I started thinking (not a good thing I keep telling myself) He’s too good for that, he’s too complex! I thought, and I guess my subconscious thought so too, because last night while I was writing, Skye (a POV character I have) decided that she was in love with him! What the heck! I said, when did that happen? That wasn’t in the outline. (Not that most things I write are ever in the outline, but you know…)

So I am presented with this issue:

I Kill him, and he piece resumes its original ending, that leaves Violet, and Jett where they need to be (together and with a stable society) and kill this amazing charcter and new plot idea!

OR

I can not kill him pursue, Skye’s wacked notion of love and have everyone in the society die. Or have Archer change for the better… (totally out of character and inconsistent) which would also make this HIS story.

Maybe I should just kill Skye… yeah that might work right? 

SIGH, what do you all think? Have you ever come up to a creative road block like this? Any advice?

10 Responses to “I Am Having Problems… *SIGH*”

  1. peacesigngirl21 April 17, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Hmm, sounds like this is quite a problem. It kinda reminds me of the first time I tried to write my book. I got to the last chapter, and stopped writing altogether. I lost interest, which was practically the worst thing ever.
    My best advice is do the ending you like the most. Or the one you think the readers will enjoy. And if you don’t like any of your options, think of a new one. Just don’t end up like me…having to rewrite your whole book.

    • juanvillagrana April 17, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      I totally get you. There are so many scenes I had intended to be in STARSONG before I realized that the POV was majorily inconsistent and they just didn’t go with the way the new draft started writing itself out. I was able to safely shift some things around and get at least part of the scene in.
      I wish I could say the same for some of the other scenes.
      My advice would be to try and write out a little bit of the endings that you’re considering, and base your final decision on whichever piece you had more fun writing.
      Hope that helps!

      • nkeda14 April 17, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

        Yeah intentions seem to get lost when your writing…O.o

        I’m just thinking whose story this needs to be, and i’ve grown attached to both my MC’s! Maybe I should just write the prequel next instead of CARVE and get it all out of my system?

        Thanks for the advice Juan!

    • nkeda14 April 17, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

      LOL thanks 😀

      I hope it doesn’t come to that but you know… stories get a mind of their own when you near draft two!

      I’ve lost interest in manuscripts before too. having the “too many ideas” problem is almost as bad!

      • gabriellan April 18, 2011 at 9:29 am #

        The “too many ideas” is always the one that gets me! I’m having that problem right now, and it’s driving me wild. It makes it so hard to focus on any one thing.

  2. usaukwoods April 19, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Perhaps you can write the story from both of their point of view. Maybe dedicate every other chapter to one or the other? I wrote one of my first novels that way. Just a thought!

    • nkeda14 April 19, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

      I have been… that is the funny part. But, the problem I have, is deciding who it should end in favor of Violet or Archer. Its a tuff choice 😦

      • usaukwoods April 20, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

        Write both endings, put the book away for awhile and then go back and reread it both ways. If you are still leaning more towards one ending go with it. Sometimes our inner voice knows best!

  3. Liz Hellebuyck April 19, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    So many good options. It sounds like the characters are really fighting for control here. May the best character win!

    • nkeda14 April 20, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

      Haha 🙂 Sadly it seems it’s a fight to the death! Literally… though I am leaning towards one lately lol

Leave a Reply

