Fixing My Issues & New Covers!

20 Apr

Sorry I’ve been so slack about blogging you all, I’ve been super busy getting ready for finals, and working on this insane history project, but I’m back! And, today I have a special treat for you: Novel covers.

I love designing covers, and getting burst of inspiration or a new idea for a WIP always makes me want to create new ones. Now, if you’ll remember, I put up a post a few days ago talking about my current “problem” with GMH (Guard My Heart, my current WIP), but suddenly, last night ,while working on said history project, I realized something, something huge: MY SETTING IS ALL WRONG!

Or… well, most of it. But, anyway, I realized that in order for it to have the punch and the hit home ending I was struggling with, I needed to change how the “world” they live in works. Thus, (though I won’t really explain why) I now have an amazing ending (O, and if you were wondering, for those of you who read the problems post, I didn’t go with either of my endings I had in the post:) Evil aren’t I?)

Anyway that inspiration lead to the First book covers for GMH! Which lead to a possible new title for it (I know I keep changing the title, but I can’t help it!) I really think this title goes way better with the message, and new setting of the book! What do you all think?

Yeah now speaking of GMH (or is that BTE now? lol) I just realized that the little “snippet” thing I have posted under Me Currently for it is totally inaccurate now! I can’t believe how much the direction of the piece has changed within just one draft. Gee, makes you wonder how different it will be in draft two huh?

Anyway, I’ll try to get a new “snippet” up for it, in the mean time I leave you to stare at my two covers. How do you guys feel about the title? Which cover do you like better?

13 Responses to “Fixing My Issues & New Covers!”

  1. digitaloutcast April 20, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Cover # 2 is great but is the girl on the cover someone you know who consented for you to use their image? I’m assuming Evangeline Lilly didn’t on the first. I strongly advise not using copyrighted pictures. In Kate Austen’s case, half the world knows who she is. It also will detract from it because half the people will be like: “a Lost novel?”

    • nkeda14 April 20, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

      lol these were just for fun. They wouldn’t be my real cover or anyting. If i ever get published I mean.

      I used Kate from lost because she kind of looks like my MC.

      I got the other photo from one of those stock photo sites 😀

      • digitaloutcast April 21, 2011 at 7:21 am #

        The picture you found of Kate is rather good. I don’t actually remember that picture, but then again, I gave up on watching the show after season 3.

    • nkeda14 April 21, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

      haha I gave up after season 2! Lost just got too… lost (if you will) for me after that. Miss one episode and you had no idea what was going on.

      • digitaloutcast April 21, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

        I watched all the episodes up to the middle of Season 3 and still had no idea what was going on. When it takes more time to explain what’s going on plotwise then it does to actually WRITE the episode, something’s screwed. haha.

      • nkeda14 April 22, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

        That is for sure! LOL lost… weird times, weird times…

  2. peacesigngirl21 April 20, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    I like the first one, but they’re both great. Ugh, that’s another one of my problems. I asked a friend about drawing me a picture of my main character, but she doesn’t like drawing humans. And another one was angry that I DIDN’T ask her, and decided to draw me one herself, just to prove she was good enough. (It was pretty good, but a picture drawn in colored pencil is probably not going to end up on my book cover.
    And good for you! I hope you don’t have anymore problems! 😉

    • nkeda14 April 20, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

      Thanks I like the first myself 😀 because of the numbers.

      Ha i’ve drawn some of my own covers too, but i’m not much of an artist so they don’t go up here haha!

  3. gabriellan April 20, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I like the picture and the font from second one best, but then I also like the numbers on the first one. The second one looks very raw and emotional.

    Cover designing is so much fun. It always gets me more excited about the novel (or distracts me from it!). I want to learn how to use a more sophisticated editing software so I can do some crazy elaborate covers. It’s on my to-do list 🙂

    • nkeda14 April 20, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks ;D

      I love designing covers to. I used picnik for these, but I would like to get photoshop or something for hardcore editing.

  4. harmamae April 21, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    I like the second one. Somehow it really catches my eye. Do you know how much input authors get into what the book cover will look like? I’ve always wondered about that.

    • nkeda14 April 21, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      Well, from what I know it really depends on what publishing house/agent you get. Some have a meeting with the authors to give input, others just design the cover and then give it to the author and ask if they would change it.

      Maybe I should do a post on that?

      • harmamae April 21, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

        Could be useful for authors to know… 🙂

Leave a Reply

