Thoughts & Things That May Make Your Eyes Bleed

3 May

It’s all coming to an end friends. With only two more weeks of track and three and a half of school, my schedule will officially be in the CLEAR! Finally. In the mean time I’ve been toiling… okay more like “off and on, kinda-sorta- pretending to, but actually working on Before This Ends”

So, since I’m getting kind of pumped for finishing my manuscript by my deadline:

MAY  30, 2011by 12:00 Midnight

I thought I’d share a few “last stretch” thoughts and a little treat… (Or healthy eye bleeding) for you all that comes in the form of a snippet from BTE.

So my thoughts:

Why does the “last stretch” seem to take FOREVER? In track the last stretch is like BAM done! I suppose I’m kind of dragging it out though. Since **ahem** I haven’t really worked that diligently on it the last few days… okay, or at all.

Second, does everyone get this sinking feeling of eminent dread before finishing? I’m sure I don’t remember this from Shift…. Or do I? Gee, Shift was so long ago though! I guess I’m kind of dreading rewriting it, and also dreading the fact that I’ll have to put it away for a while too, I’ve gotten awfully comfortable just chillin’ with Violet and Evilli.

Finally, as you all know I have a problem with changing title names, and (don’t worry Before This Ends is sticking for now!) it turns out that I’m having the same problem with character names. Violet has evolved too much… and her name, well, it’s just not sticking with me. So that is bound to change in draft two. I feel like I’m renaming my child or something.

 :/ kind of awkward, yes?

So without further procrastination my snippet:

“But…” The guardian says, the one Jett called master, “The council has decided to ere on the side of mercy. You will receive fifty lashes…” he pauses “each.”

                I suck in a short breath my heart fluttering in my chest.  My stomach rolls the word singing in my ears like sirens, Lashes.

                I’m sucked back into the past: I hear the drip of the water in the dungeon as the whip whistles through the air and lands on my back, a lightning strike. The acute pain spreading like electricity. I moan, the remembrance of it making me shake under moist palms.

© Alexandra Sestito 2011-2012

Hope you found it bearable! Haha

How are your WIP’s looking? Anyone in their “last stretch”?

 

6 Responses to “Thoughts & Things That May Make Your Eyes Bleed”

  1. peacesigngirl21 May 3, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    My WIP hasn’t “progessed” much. I have decided to rewrite…for the fourth time. I’ve been avoiding writing it for about two weeks now, spending my time working on a short story just for fun. I dread getting back to work, but maybe my skill will grow (even the tiniest bit) by writing this short story…

    Good luck with meeting your deadline! 😉 You can do it!

    • nkeda14 May 3, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      Thanks 😀 I’ll sure try. My crit partner is helpfully harrassing me! haha

      I’ve found that you just need to push through the first draft. Just go fast and keep telling yourself “No EDITING!”

      Good luck to you too!

  2. wovenstrands May 3, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    No where near my last stretch :/ but I have a lot on my plate :/

    • nkeda14 May 3, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

      same here! Gee, why is there always soooo much to do?

  3. juanvillagrana May 6, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    Yay! haha
    I’m sooooo close to finishing SS! It’s pretty exciting, so I definitely know how you feel. Last week I think, I went through a short struggle where I was deciding whether or not my MC should just keep her name.
    In the end, I realized that the “new” name really belong to one of the characters in DEVASTATE.
    And I’m still not sure about changing the title. I like it, but not as much as I did when it first came to mind. Right now, though, I’m siding with keeping it.
    Good luck with the rest of BTE!
    =)

Leave a Reply

