Proof That I Am Lame

4 May

If there was any doubt in anyone’s mind of my totally lame nerdy-ness please read on:

I’m sitting at the computer trying to force myself to get up and get my English book “Animal Farm” and read a chapter instead of going to spark notes

“I don’t want to read ANIMAL FARM!” I say aloud, slightly exasperated

“Well don’t” says my dad, “take the F”

He’s joking right? I think

“I don’t want an F…” I mumble, clicking the skip button on Pandora.

“Well go read.” He doesn’t look up from his laptop.

I heave a huge say, push myself violently up from the chair and say, “But I don’t want to read ANIMAL FARM! I wan to read Margaret Perterson Haddix’s book about time travel!” I begin to stalk down the hallway,

“I want to time travel I tell you!” I shout back at the office door.

I walk out into the living room, my mother gives me a weird look.

But what else is new? LOL yes, as soon as the words “I want to time travel I tell you” left my mouth I realized that I am totally lame!

I figured I should share my lameness with you all before I’m off to (begrudgingly) read ANIMAL FARM! Instead of, time traveling… or writing, which is what I SHOULD be doing now. Darn the metaphorical Satire of the Russian Revolution. Why did you have to write that book George Orwell? Why?

Thanks for reading, see you all soon.

PS: I think I’ll be putting up a little video tour of my bookshelf up this weekend so stay tuned!

11 Responses to “Proof That I Am Lame”

  1. digitaloutcast May 4, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    BLASPHEMY! Animal Farm is incredible! It’s the greatest novel no one ever wants to read again EVER!

    I’m actually trying to hurry reading my Star Wars novel (talk about nerdiness!) so I can read Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World (a novel about a utopia gone horrible wrong) and after that I’m starting on George R.R. Martin’s Song of Fire and Ice saga.

    as for time travel, I’ve been pushing people to make it happen for years now. though, science dictates that time travel could possibly end all existence…end EVERYTHING. and if you leave your present time, you can never go back. you can return to a very similar time but it’s still much different.

    • nkeda14 May 5, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

      LOL Sorry, I just can’t dig animal farm!

      I’ve been wanting to read Brave New World! Let me know what you think of it.

      • digitaloutcast May 5, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

        No, no, NO I HATED Animal Farm. That above post was positively swimmingly in sarcasm; otherwise, I wouldn’t DARE write those horrid words. Brave New World is the same. It’s an extremely accurate picture of a utopica gone to heck but it’s so disturbing I couldn’t stand reading more than 30 pages or so. I don’t recommend it…please, don’t read it! I’d feel terrible recommending it and then having someone else read it and be scarred for life. Me being scarred is bad enough. =P

      • nkeda14 May 6, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

        haha didn’t catch that… see this is why blonds have a bad wrap, it’s all me!

        :/ well I guess that one is off my list!

  2. gabriellan May 5, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    I couldn’t do Animal Farm, either. I had to read it for school, and I thought watching the movie would help me get interested in it, but no. It has an interesting concept, I guess.

    • nkeda14 May 6, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

      Or just a weird concept haha! I’ll just never understand “Great American Literature” I guess.

  3. digitaloutcast May 6, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    Um…I hate to rub it in, I really do, but I do think “blonds” should be spelled “blondes.” Sorry?

    • nkeda14 May 8, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      O gee typo… if your kind enough to believe it! lol

      • digitaloutcast May 8, 2011 at 10:07 pm #

        According to *some* I am. I believe you =P

  4. harmamae May 7, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I always find if you’re forced to read a book for school, you enjoy it so much less. Sometimes it helps to go back and read it again later when you don’t have to.
    Animal Farm was okay – the nice thing about it is that it’s short. And the symbolism is nice and obvious.

    • nkeda14 May 8, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      True, I finished just yesterday so at least it’s all over for now!

Leave a Reply

