Why Ally will NEVER Write a Trilogy

15 May

Has anyone noticed that trilogies (and “cycles” “sagas”, etc) kind of suck?  Not as a whole I’m talking the crash and burn final book.Lets illustrate:

The first book starts out something like this:

Second book:

And then…Third (or fourth):

Can you say CRASH AND BURN? I don’t say this about ALL series, just most. City of Glass, for instance was an amazing third book. But, there are a lot more “Fails” in the third book arena than gold medalists.

Extras by Scott Westerfield, Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins, Gone by Lisa Mcmann. The Uglies, Hunger Games, and Wake series’ are all awesome until you get to book three (or in Scotts case book 4) where they just go up in flames.

I really wish I knew why this happens. Maybe the writer just got tired of writing the characters and didn’t put all they had into it. Maybe the third book just couldn’t  be as amazing as the first two because well… how likely is it to get three mind-blowing books in a row? Not likely, apparently.

Granted, I think the last books in these series were okay by themselves, but when held up to the glaring awesomeness that was the first two books they suck!

That is why I hate the idea of writing a trilogy and why I will never write one if I have anything to say about it. (Which I do by the way) I think two books is plenty to get across your point, and I don’t think there are enough duos out there. The only one I can really think of right now is the Incarceron duo by Catherine Fisher (which is AMAZING be the way) and I understand the need to “let the characters lead the story” and “you need one more book because the readers want one” but readers don’t want a book that seems crappy in comparison to the first two or three.

Honestly, I didn’t even bother to buy Extras by Westerfield because I thought it would disgrace the other three books on my shelf. Dramatic? Maybe a little, but don’t you guys think that sometimes authors just write a third/fourth book to mak more money? Or that the third/fourth book in a series kind of crashes and burns?

Comment! I want to hear you guys’ thoughts.

UPDATE: I’ll be back this week with guest posts and many other random postings because of my absence last week.

14 Responses to “Why Ally will NEVER Write a Trilogy”

  1. peacesigngirl21 May 15, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    I have several ideas planned out for stories-just for a time when I have nothing to write, or when I reach my full potential. (Which I probably never will) Some people write trilogies just because they don’t have enough ideas to make more than three books. If I ever become a writer, I’ll probably write more trilogies/cycles than I will series. But that’s just my opinion. And you have a point, about most books not living up to the first two. Maybe someone out there will finally get three in a row. 😉

    • nkeda14 May 15, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      SIGH… maybe it will be you?! If so I bow before your awesomeness… or…errr, future awesomeness? haha

      • peacesigngirl21 May 15, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

        Uh, I strongly doubt it, but I can only hope! 😀 Haha, I don’t expect that of anyone, but thanks! 😉

  2. juanvillagrana May 15, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    I’m actually writing STARSONG/DEVASTATE with series potential but I’ve only mapped out all of STARSONG’s potential follow-ups. But I totally see what you mean about books in a series slowly growing a little worse over the course.
    Take, for example, the NEED series by Carrie Jones. Okay, so I read the first book and fell dangerously in love with it and purchased the second book a little before I got through it. I read the second book and I loved it sooooo much I thought I would die of anticipation waiting for the third one.
    So the third book comes out. FINALLY after seven months of torture. AND IT UTTERLY DISSAPPOINTS ME. I liked it, but I wasn’t enough, and it certainly didn’t leave me waiting for book four with a similar anticipation.
    I haven’t read too many series, come to think of it, but that’s just my two cents lol

    • nkeda14 May 15, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

      YES YES YES!!!!! Entice totally sucked compared to the others… why do they do this to us? All we want is a consistant series. If you’re going to be bad, at least do it consistantly lol!

  3. wovenstrands May 15, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    It’s so funny because I was talking to some of my friends about this just this week!

    In the pacific case of The Hunger Games, I was completely disappointed with final book, the deaths weren’t planned out, the ending was slow and disappointing, the results for all the characters didn’t make sense so I don’t know why Susanne Collins did this but I think she could have done better.

    In my case I think I would like to write a trilogy because it seems like publiahers and agents these days are looking for long term clients. YA in particular is known for it’s series and trilogies. It has been a while now since I’ve read a stand alone novel.

    • nkeda14 May 15, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

      Thats what i’m saying… whats wrong with a good ol’ stand alone? LOL

  4. digitaloutcast May 15, 2011 at 11:16 pm #

    Star Wars, The Lord of the Rings, A Song of Fire and Ice, Harry Potter, The Dark Tower, etc. say hello. =)

  5. harmamae May 17, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    I attempted to write a trilogy once, but it was the second book that crashed and burned (either way, the whole thing was incredibly juvenile).
    Maybe the author just gets tired of their series by the time they hit the third book, or they run out of ideas? Either that, or there’s too many loose ends to wrap up in the third book, and too much explanation.
    I’d say Lord of the Rings would avoid this, but it is technically 6 books (or one gigantic one).

    • nkeda14 May 17, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      :/ yeah… trilogies seem like they would be hard to write.

  6. max May 18, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    I agree with the hunger games mockingjay book. It was just so random. Prim just gets blown up and then all of a sudden Katniss and Peeta are together and Gale is just kind of out there not important anymore! And the ending happened way to fast. Prim dead,Peeta and Katniss married,have kids,BOOM done. fail.

    • nkeda14 May 19, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      I know! And the whole “Peeta and Katniss” are together thing was NOT built up to at all! It was just like “O by the way we have two kids and are in love now! Thanks bye!” haha

      I love suzanne collins but she really messed that third book up 😦

Leave a Reply

