Window-Sills Full of Ideas

19 May

 I have “too many ideas” syndrome. I don’t mean to complain, I really don’t. I mean, it’s great! I have lots of options and new things to toy with, but it’s taking a huge toll on Before This Ends.

            You see my “next project” (or what I’m hoping to work on next anyway) is CARVE. This amazing, all time consuming idea. I spend all my spare time day dreaming, drooling, and generally fantasizing over it. It’s disgusting really.

            Anyway this leaves little time to play around with scenes and serious plotting for Before This Ends. I’m really bad when it comes to buckling down and doing serious stuff. The last three chapters are being really tuff on me.

            Along with CARVE , I also have another idea I’ve been playing with that involves inscribed blades, phoenixes (or an Ally version of a phoenix lol), and Saudi Arabia. That’s an idea that’s been bouncing around in my mind for over a year now, but still isn’t developed enough to put on paper. Though, I have been debating on whether or not to mess around with plotting that instead of beginning CARVE.

            After all, I need something REALLY good to work on during NANOWRIMO this year, and I don’t know how apt I will be to pick up a totally new idea when I have that staring at me all November… probably not very apt.

            But, good news for me, English class finally proved to be useful! We had to write Short Stores for this weeks final assignment and the piece I wrote is shaping up to be something very novel like. The oddest part of it all is that it’s a contemporary YA with no hint of magic/fantasy at all. Though, there are some guns. Does that count? No, no I don’t think it does. Anyway that might be a possibility for NANO 2011 also!

            All and all Before This Ends seems to be getting farther and farther out of reach as the ideas stack up like snow on a Canadian window sill. Sad, really, since I am still pretty in love with the story idea, even if the actual execution seems to be very lacking.

            Anybody else have this problem?

6 Responses to “Window-Sills Full of Ideas”

  1. peacesigngirl21 May 19, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    I admit to having the same problem. But hey, when we get older, who says we’ll have such a creative mind as we do now? Everytime I get an idea for a future book, I put it in a PowerPoint. Trust me, it’s handy to keep all your ideas in seperate slides. I’ve got three future projects waiting to be created right now, and a book to begin! Ugh, I’m so ready for summer break…

    • nkeda14 May 20, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

      Power point? huh… thats an amazing idea! I’ll have to try that.

      PS: can’t wait for summer too!

  2. Blossom Dreams May 19, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Sounds like you’re busy 😀 I’ve been there where I’ve had so many ideas I barely had time to write them down…best to jot them down, but only work on a few at a time otherwise we end up spreading ourselves too thinly.

    Have a great day
    Chloe xx

    • nkeda14 May 20, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

      yeah i was already spread thin what with track and three books, and finals.

      Thanks for the tip Chloe! 😀

  3. gabriellan May 19, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    I’m usually plagued by this problem, but for some reason I’ve been all one-track minded about editing SR. That might have something to do with the daunting prospect of my next project: editing my Angel books, aka the MONSTER. It’s scared me into behaving.

    • nkeda14 May 20, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

      Haha I’ve had THAT kind of book before… scary isn’t it? Good luck on that!

Leave a Reply

