The “Surprise Baby”

29 May

Just finished my bit of writing on BTE for today. Got over 1600 words done in the last hour, so not feeling too bad. Though, I’m slowly realizing that it needs so much fine tuning its crazy. Actually, I think it just needs to be totally pitched, which it will be by the way, there is no questioning that.

I think that the rewrite will be 20x better though. Right now the whole thing is nothing like what draft two will look like. So many scenes are being scrapped, characters are being taken out, names are changing, the tech of the world is getting totally rewired (haha pun intended), and the whole draft is getting, like I said, scraped and rewritten.

I just wrote a scene, that I’m thinking I’ll pitch anyway, but my first drafts are more like experiments than actual drafts. I mostly end up with failure, but it leads to success later, and there are a few salvageable bits here and there.

I’m really just trying to ride out this week with some serious elbow grease. I MUST RESIST EDITING! Or, that is what I keep telling myself. I know if I don’t draft one will not get done this week, and that is the goal. One I think is very definitely finishable if only I put my mind to it.

The real thing I’m looking forward to is starting CARVE! eeeeepppp. I have most of it plotted out in my head, a lot more than I did with BTE, which was a NANOWRIMO “brilliant inspiration” type idea.

I figure BTE is like the “surprise baby” you get (AKA the “oopps but I love it anyway”one) and CARVE will be the planned baby (AKA the “i’ve been waiting for you forever one”)

If my metaphor freaks you out I recommend you stop reading my blog now, as I will only get weirder when editing comes around… A LOT weirder.

Anyway, I’ll be putting my heart and soul into finishing that this week. Carrie (my awesome crit partner)is coming over tomorrow so I’m sure I’ll have some craziness to report tomorrow.

How are your projects going? Anybody have a “surprise baby” project? 😀

4 Responses to “The “Surprise Baby””

  1. Liz Hellebuyck May 30, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    No surprise babies for me. Not now anyway.
    They say you should write a crappy first draft and pretty it up later, so resist the temptation to edit, and hang in there. Beautification time will come soon enough.

    • nkeda14 May 30, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      😉 Thanks Liz. I will resist as best I can!

  2. gabriellan May 30, 2011 at 1:22 am #

    I had a surprise baby a few months ago. It’s an atrocious mess of a novel right now, but I still love the idea of it. I’ll probably get back to it sooner or later!

    • nkeda14 May 30, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      Yeah they tend to go a little wack-o don’t they? LOL

Leave a Reply

