Nineveh

3 Jun

I just need to get it done! Or that is what I keep telling myself. I have two maybe three chapters to go on BTE and it all needs to get done with in the next 50 odd hours. Gee… when I say it like that it doesn’t sound like much, but gee whilicurs it is a lot! My climax, falling action, loose end tying all needs to get done in 50 flippin’ hours!

YIKES!

On top of this crazyness of writing (or avoiding writing until 10 o’clock at night(which is what I’ve been doing all week)) I have also found THE NAME for my main character. Currently under the alias Violet. UGH!

What was I thinking, naming her Violet. I mean, when you think of Violet you think: small, weak, girly, easily crushed under foot. Violet, my character, she is so far the opposite of that it’s almost laughable.

Anyway The name I found is completely utterly totally amazing and fitting, and unique… or well I think it is. Last night I was perusing wiki when I came upon an article about ancient biblical people’s, and suddenly the name just popped into my head:

Nineveh.

If you all don’t know , Nineveh was an ancient city of  sinful people. Jonah was sent to prophesy to them and cause them to repent. Instead he jumped on a ship and, well, he gotten eaten by a whale.

After God made the whale spit him up he went to the city and the people repented, and were saved from destruction, even though Jonah didn’t like the fact that they’d been saved. He hadn’t thought them worth saving.

And that fit’s “Violet” so perfectly. It’s a strong name. A name with a story and a history. Plus, I love the way it sounds. (It’s pronounced Nin-A-vu.)

The only problem : It’s IMPOSSIBLE to shorten! I want her to have a nick name, something quick. One or two syllables. Several syllable names don’t read very well. They seem clumsy to me. That’s why I’d shorted Violet to Vi. BUT YOU CAN NOT DO IT WITH NINEVEH! Eee-gad!

You see I thought about shortening it to Eveh (so the correct pronunciation would wold be Ava) but when you look at Eveh it looks like  “what eveh” so the pronunciation would be ever with a bad accent!

The only solution I can think of is to spell it like this:

Ninavah

But I’m not sure if the allusion will register as well. You guys have any suggestions? Comments? PLEASE! lol

PS: Me Currently and Annoucements have FINALLY been updated! haha

6 Responses to “Nineveh”

  1. max June 3, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    just call her Nin if you want to.:P

    • nkeda14 June 4, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

      Yeah, I tried that. I think it sounds too old ladyish?? I don’t know. You know how a name just won’t sound right on a certain character? That’s what Nin does for me…

      :/ this naming buisness is difficult.

  2. peacesigngirl21 June 3, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Well, I can admit to pronouncing it wrong it my head. Ninavah is much easier to say than Nineveh, and it makes it look more like it sounds. (Does that make any sense?) But, it is a good name! I had a lot of trouble naming my characters, but the easiest was actually my heroine! I loved the name “Dawn” from the beginning, and it was easy to place the character to the name! And Violet was a good name (it made me think of flowers, which isn’t so girly) but they both work! It’s just whatever you like best!

    • nkeda14 June 4, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      Yes, I think i’ll have to go with the “A” spelling if I want her nickname to be Ava.

  3. gabriellan June 3, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    I like the spelling with the a better; it just looks nicer to the eyes. But that automatically makes me pronounce it differently, more like nin-ava. So… yeah, that’s not helpful. I’d just go with the original spelling and call her Nin, but that’s not exactly a nice nickname.

    • nkeda14 June 4, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

      Yeah that is what I am saying! It sounds… old lady-ish :/

      Blah… names are hard!

Leave a Reply

