The Problem with PIXIES

7 Jun

 

YA is chalk full of paranormal. Particularly fairy/pixie stuff, among other things.

CARVE, my next project has a little to do with said mythical creatures, and I’m just now starting to consider the repercussions of said Pixie involvement in said novel.

After all don’t you think Pixies are being a little over done, and they are all done in the same way? May I note the following about “modern” pixies:

Extremely attractive

Human Like

No wings

Not evil

But not good either.

Generally, most pixie/fairy books fall into this criteria. And, frankly, it’s getting old. This is why taking on a Pixie book freaks me out. Granted, CARVES Pixies, follow none of those criteria (Let me stress that again NONE) but I fear that readers will automatically assume that it is just “another pixie paranormal” and I don’t want to be “pulp pixie fiction.” Even for a moment.

My Pixies’ are extremely dark, not nice little “hawteees” for Mary Sue. They have a taste for blood, knives, underground tunnels, and taking advantage of naive humans. (Yes, they also have wings.)

That’s another thing I don’t get. Why don’t any modern versions of pixies have wings? And they are all so human! (That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but not my take on them for sure!)

I suppose that’s why they say “If there’s a book you want to read that isn’t written write it.”

I’m just kind of spazzing about writing a new project. Especially one that has so many assumptions automatically surrounding it because of its “Pixie content.” Anyway… that’s CARVE for you my “Pixie Project”. Here is the trailer for any of you that didn’t get to see it when I first posted it… two/three months ago? Anyway enjoy:

Anyone else have spazzy-ness about writing paranormal for these reasons? Or is it just me?

10 Responses to “The Problem with PIXIES”

  1. juanvillagrana June 7, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    CARVE already sounds like it’s going to be amazing! It’s funny, too, because STARSONG is totally centered on pixies. Likewise, I’m trying to deviate from the norm. In the first draft, they didn’t have wings and they instead had these cheesy killer tails, which I promptly switched for sleek silver wings in draft two.
    I hope all goes well with CARVE!
    =)

    • nkeda14 June 7, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

      Thanks. I didn’t know STARSONG was Pixie fiction! HMMM… great minds think alike, right?

      I suppose we’ll just have to see how it all goes.

  2. gabriellan June 8, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    It’s not just you. I’ve tended away from paranormal just because the word paranormal seems to have become a cliche. There was a project I was working on involving angels, and I’d like to think it was fairly original, but then I realized that the world is inundated with paranormal. And I stuck it on a back-burner for later, when I’m a good enough writer to make it stand out properly. I’m fairly bummed about the paranormal genre, because it seems to have become nothing more than an extension of the romance genre.

    • nkeda14 June 8, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      Yeah it has. Thats kind of why I am freaking out, because I want CARVE to be so much more than everyone expects! Ugh!

      I’m thinking of picking up a short story I was writing and extending it instead. It seems… safer. It’s contempary fiction, but then again I think i HAVE to write CARVE. If I don’t I think I will blow up! lol

  3. harmamae June 8, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    Wow, I’m never read a YA novel that has to do with pixies, but I’ve probably just overlooked them somehow.
    Could you call them something else, other than “pixies”? For example, J.R.R Tolkien called some of his elves “gnomes,” but he eventually changed the name because the word gnome made everyone think of short little garden people.
    Alternatively, you could just play up the fact that your pixies are totally different. Like how the Artemis Fowl books make fun of human ideas of what leprechauns, sprites, elves and dwarves are like. The ones in the book are very different than people’s usual image of them.

    • nkeda14 June 8, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      I don’t know how you could miss them? Hmmm…. It seems like they are everywhere, but maybe that is just me?

      Good point. Maybe I will try that, thanks for the advice!

  4. peacesigngirl21 June 8, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    I personally love pixies – they rock! Though the main one that I know of is evil…:D Have you ever read Artemis Fowl? It’s an amazing series, and it has plenty of pixies and elves and dwarfs, etc… If you haven’t, it’s totally worth reading! 😉 And CARVE sounds like it is going to be awesome!

    • nkeda14 June 8, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

      No I haven’t read that series… but i’ve heard of it. I’ll have to look into.

      Thanks! 😀 I hope it will be !

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 11 Posts of 2011 « NOVEL IDEAS - December 16, 2011

    […] 9.  The Problem with Pixies […]

  2. Got Flat Characters? « NOVEL IDEAS - June 7, 2012

    […] For example, I’ll use my MC from my novel CARVE (whose trailer you can see in THIS POST.) […]

Leave a Reply

