What Are Your Characters’ Most Precious Belongings and Why (via Of a Writerly Sort)

9 Jun

AMAZING IDEA ALERT! Gabrielle of “OF A WRITERLY SORT” had an amazing exercise on her blog today. What are your characters most precious belongings and why? I love the idea, and think it’s a very good starter for character building, so from her lovely blog I give you my MC of BEFORE THIS ENDS most prized possession:

Skyler Hannan’s most prized possession is a red bandanna that she keeps tied around her ankle (usually under a black army issue combat boot), after all something like that will get stolen, if she keeps it out in the open.

It’s her most prized possession because it was her best friend in the orphanages’ bandanna, before the war started, when things were… not good, but better than they are now. The little boy (David) was dying of phenomena, and he was the closest thing Skyler had ever had to family. When she was sitting by his bed the night he died, he took it off from around his neck and tied it around her head, trying to cheer her up. He died later that night, and Skyler has always kept it in an effort to remind herself of why she does what she does. Kill.

 

Hope you all participate! Please leave a comment if you do, but leave one if you don’t too! haha

See the original article here:

My sister and I were talking about weapons the other day, which made me think about the characters in The Monster, aka The Angel Saga. The main character, Angelica, has a switchblade that she loves, both to fight with and just to have. That, in turn, made me think about what all of my characters’ most precious belongings were, and what that said about them as people. I picked three characters and decided to figure out what their favorite material … Read More

via Of a Writerly Sort

4 Responses to “What Are Your Characters’ Most Precious Belongings and Why (via Of a Writerly Sort)”

  1. harmamae June 9, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Good exercise! I’ll have to think about that one for my latest set of characters… tough, but I can see how that would give you a better handle on them. Maybe a good writing exercise for me tonight. 🙂

    • nkeda14 June 10, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

      Yeah, I thought it was a pretty good idea anyway 🙂

  2. gabriellan June 10, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Skyler’s life sounds so sad. I feel bad for poor David.

    • nkeda14 June 18, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

      Yeah… shes been tough to write 😦 but I like a challenge once in awhile 🙂

Leave a Reply

