The SECRET to BREATH-TAKING PROSE!

11 Jun

Before I got in deep with BTE this past year, I wrote a lot of poetry. All last summer I wrote a poem every flippin’ day!

And I realized, looking over some older work this past week, that I am a MUCH better writer for it.

I think, as “novelists” we tend to square ourselves off into our little box, and just stick with that one thing. Granted we may tip-top cautiously into short story or even (if we’re brave) non-fiction. But, I’ve noticed that most “fiction writers” don’t write poetry. I suppose it’s because it is so different from the style of prose writing, “it doesn’t even have paragraphs!” you say “how can that help me write a novel?”

Well, someone very wise once said that ” poetry is what is lost in translation”. In other words, poetry speaks volumes in a very crafty way. One well placed line of a poem can say a thousand times more than what three paragraphs of description can. Poets (good ones anyway) have a way of cutting to the chase and finding the very roots of a description, all the while communicating something more with that description.

Bottom line:

Poetry teaches you how to make every sentence pull double (even triple) duty!

Poets are the ultimate multitasker’s!

Take Maya Angelou’s poem “I rise” she uses the metaphor of “Like dust I rise” immediately you get a picture in your head don’t you? A perfect descriptor, of an effortlessm almost unstoppable climb. This line also shows the actual meaning of the poem, being Maya’s ability to keep coming back, and to never be tamped down by anything or anyone! Genius? Yes, I think so.

If you are able to infuse this powerful art into your writing you’ll have agents drooling at your feet! Crowds of  the opposite sex chasing you down the street…. okay maybe that was The Beatles…. yeah that was them.

:/ you get the point though, right?

Anyway if any of you are interested in getting feedbacks on your poetry I would recommend joining poemofquotes.com they have an AMAZING community that is über supportive and helpful!

Until next time, I leave you with a tid-bit of my own poetry. Enjoy!

Frozen Roses

Frozen rose
Bloody red
Shatter at the pavements headBleeding once a radiant love
Broken bitterly like the heart of a dove

Shattering petals blow in the wind
Crisp edge all curled in

Hiding in the dark of night
Carrying past kisses in a dead loves flight

Broken dreams
Broken hearts
Shattered roses to wanting embark

Frozen roses bundled black with silk
Heart sick with the loss of lovers they wilt

The sun shines upon them

but never do they heal
frozen roses un-distilledWilting with a love lost
Broken petals shriveled with frost

 
CURRENT MUSIC:  Somewhere a Clock is Ticking by SNOW PATROL

 

18 Responses to “The SECRET to BREATH-TAKING PROSE!”

  1. peacesigngirl21 June 11, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    I was never much of a poet, but I admit to writing some short poems whenever I was feeling a strong emotion. 😀 And that’s an awesome poem!;D

    • nkeda14 June 12, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      Thanks! Poetry is good for venting 😉

  2. harmamae June 11, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    I’ve heard poetry can really improve your prose too, but it’s been a long time since I wrote any poetry.

    • nkeda14 June 12, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      Yes, it can be hard to keep up with it… as with everything else writerly! LOL

  3. The Illusive Hipster June 11, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    I write solely short stories…every novel I’ve written gets worse and worse the longer it gets. What does that say, cause I have no flippin clue?

    • nkeda14 June 12, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      I think it’s because novel writing and SS writing require entirely different skill sets. It’s not that one or the other is easier or harder (because I CAN NOT write a short story) its that you need different mindset/tools to accomplish those things correctly.

      All it says is that you need to learn how to use different tools to write a novel!

      • The Illusive Hipster June 13, 2011 at 5:44 am #

        Short stories are like writing VERY BRIEF novels, so to speak. I can do them so much better simply because I have been told I have a knack for characterization and development in a few words, rather than many. I guess not every can write Tolkien like epic sagas, right? To each their own.

  4. juanvillagrana June 12, 2011 at 12:59 am #

    Great post! It seems that a lot of today’s poetic writers seem to have a small background with poetry, and it’s evident in their writing. Maybe this also explains why your snippets of BEFORE THIS ENDS have been so amazing and non first-draft-sounding!
    To think that poetry holds so much description in such small lines!
    BEAUTIFUL poem, by the way! *envy*
    =)

    • nkeda14 June 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      HaHa Thanks (though, I could agrue with you, but I won’t)!

      I love poetry it is super powerful… and also useful!

  5. Jennifer Mandelas June 13, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Excellent post! I think poets are incredibly skilled, and I try to use poetry writing techniques when writing scenes that I wish to have a specific emotional pull. They are definitely the better for it.

    • nkeda14 June 14, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

      Yes, it’s good to get different perspectives and use them in your writing.

  6. gabriellan June 14, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    I have a great respect for poetry, because it’s rare that I come across a poem that doesn’t make me stop and think. I can’t write a poem to save my life, but it’s a skill that would definitely benefit me to put some effort into.

    And I totally agree with Juan! Your poem is beautiful. The words lay out all these images in my head. I had to go google a picture of a shattered rose just so I could see if it could live up to my mental image 🙂

    • nkeda14 June 14, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      O thanks! *feels special*

      I love how poetry can create crystal clear imagery!

  7. Blossom Dreams June 19, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Great post – I agree with your comments and personally see writing poetry as a way of keeping my pencil sharp for the day I write my novel 😉 xx

    • nkeda14 June 20, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

      Thats a good way to think about it! 😀

      Thanks for commenting!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. To See the World in a Grain of Sand: Poetry for Fiction Writers « jennifermandelas - June 14, 2011

    […] Novel Ideas for a Teen Writer had an excellent post a few days ago about the use of poetry for fiction writers. While poetry is certainly a distinct genre of its own, and requires a wide range of different tools that those used by novelists, I believe that studying and writing poetry can improve one’s prose considerably. The frugal use of words, careful word placement, and unique pacing and timing can add that extra literary punch to pivotal scenes, not to mention adding a depth to character thought or the poignancy of a situation that would otherwise be lost amid the paragraphs of explanation. Poetry should be a direct pull to the senses or emotions. Isn’t that what we writers want our readers to feel? […]

  2. STONE. « These Immortal Words - June 14, 2011

    […] of the story. HINT: I read the poem in the seventh grade, and Ally made a brief mention to it in this blog […]

  3. The Importance of Rhythm | Of a Writerly Sort - December 4, 2011

    […] (who actually wrote a post on the value of writing poetry HERE) at Novel Ideas of a Teen Writer is having the Novel Idea Awards for the month of December, […]

Leave a Reply

