There is a Little ‘Bad Boy’ In All of Us

6 Jul

'nuff said

You know what I’m talking about,  the sultry hunk of your dreams wearing that leather jacket, and flipping his dark hair across his deep tortured eyes… Oh YEEEAAAH.

No… No, Not Really.

The Bad Boy of YA fiction haunts everyone’s deepest  nightmares… or dreams, depending on who you ask. Granted, A bad boy is undeniably mysterious, which of corse adds a new element of conflict to a book. After all if the girl picked her perky BFF every time where would the story be?

For example:

Clary Fray meets Jace Wayland

Meghan Chase meets Ash The Ice Prince (No seriously that is his title… can it get anymore Bad boy?)

Bella meets… (Do I even have to say it?) Edward

Without these lovely mentally upset boys where would these YA tales of love and adventure be? No where. But there is also along with the wonder and mystery that comes with the bad boy persona a cliché that transcends the ages. I deep ingrained piece of culture that has not been weathered or worn by time.

Seriously, do you image an 16th century princess going “Oh I want to marry him he’s so… nice.” or something like “Did you hear about the scandle he had with So and so I wonder what he’s hiding. I have to find out.”

That’s what I’m saying people. The Bad boy, though, at times cringe worthy is a fundamental part of our society, and we see him coming immediately, don’t we? As SOON as we meet Prince Ash we all knew there was no way Puck had a chance with Meghan anymore, even if it wasn’t fair or right. We knew.

So that brings us right around to my delima. To bad boy or not to bad boy.

You see, BTE is being completely re-thought at the moment, and in editing I realized that my main love interest has absolutely NO PERSONALITY he is not good. He is not bad. HE IS BLAH! So… I began musing on whether or not to bad boy him up, and am dangerously teetering on the fence.

After all… can’t he be interesting and not a bad boy… No… no i suppose he can’t. I mean, not going to lie,his life as a child was kind of wack-o. Being raised inside a cult doesn’t really support the “I’ll bring him home to mom” type. especially in a cult where you battle with swords at the age of 7…”So yeah…

*ehem* *cough*

Oh, who am I kidding?

I love a good bad boy!

I hope you enjoyed this lovely rant about ‘bad boys’. I was inspired by this awesome post on WOVEN STRANDS. What do you all think? To bad boy or not to bad boy?

9 Responses to “There is a Little ‘Bad Boy’ In All of Us”

  1. The Illusive Man July 6, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    You’re assuming, Ally, your readership consists solely of females. I certainly do not dream of hunky, tortured “bad boys”…;D

    This is more like it, at least for me: http://cdn.sheknows.com/articles/2011/02/numbers/teresa-palmer-i-am-number-six.jpg.

    • nkeda14 July 7, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

      HAHA LOL there goes my brain again not thinking! ha lol Sorry, and I love that movie! I am number four was so BA, and she is an awesome actress! Just BTW 😀

      • The Illusive Man July 7, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

        That was actually number six (#4 was the dude) but close enough…;D

  2. gabriellan July 8, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    I do love a good bad boy (as long as he’s not all angsty). They’re so much more interesting than the boy the next door, what with all the mystery and dark secrets surrounding them and everything.

    I’ve never watched I Am Number Four, but in that picture of number six – AWESOME bike. Makes me want to learn to ride a motorcycle. Haha.

    • The Illusive Man July 8, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

      It’s a good movie…I’d recommend it.

      • nkeda14 July 8, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

        haha 😉

    • nkeda14 July 8, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      WOOOO you must go watch it! *LOVES* I love that movie… also Alex Pettyfer isn’t too bad to look at for two hours… 😉

  3. nkeda14 July 8, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    O.o and I was talking about the movie title “I am number four” as a movie was BA. I knew she was # 6!

    • The Illusive Man July 9, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

      Ah, my bad….my mind was a little fried that day from the heat.

Leave a Reply

