Do or Die Time (Plus a COVER)

9 Aug

My laptop came! THANK GOODNESS! I am loving windows 7, and the new office software, but my laptop has brought with it something I’ve been dreading. Do or Die time for BTE draft 2….

I now have no excuse for not writing so any lapse in word count goes 100% on me, and not onto the terribleness of a crashed piece of crap computer. Kind of puts the pressure on. I’m really stressing about it (even though I shouldn’t be). I feel like I’ve hit a block. You know that big wall you sometimes come up against when writing? The one that no matter how hard you look you can’t find a ledge to scale over it, or a door to get through it. Because, for some reason, you can not figure out how to attack the story you’ve got.

Its frustrating, especially since I KNOW the story so much better than I did before edits. I feel like I should just be able to go and, I don’t know, just DO IT! But something (and I don’t know what it is) is stopping me.

Usually when I get blocked it’s because I’m missing some key point, or I’ve written something wrong that just doesn’t click. With in a  matter of days I can have it sorted and picked back up, but this is different. It’s obvious that I’m missing something big, that there has to be some huge gap in the plot that my brain just can’t wrap around (like a black hole or something).

So to shove that frustration into the back of my mind I’ve  turned my attention to other projects. Namely BTE’s “Prequel”. The Prequel to BTE has vaguely been in the works since BTE itself, though I’ve been on the fence about writing it for the last few months the “BLOCK” has convinced me to dive on in.

So for the first time I present to you Before This Ends’ companion novel “A LIGHT THAT SHATTERS”:

(c) novel ideas life of a teen writer

The Title doesn’t seem to be meshing very well with BTE’s title, but BTE is bound to change AGAIN. I know, I know, this is what? The fourth time. I don’t know why, but I’ve had such trouble with BTE’s title. Though A Light That Shatters feels like a keeper. What do you all think?

Until next time I’m off to write!

8 Responses to “Do or Die Time (Plus a COVER)”

  1. Conjurer August 10, 2011 at 5:16 am #

    A Light that Shatters is a really good title. You’ll now want to make BTE’s title go along with it. If the novel is darker than ALtS, then perhaps something starting with A Dark…or A Shadow would be appropriate??

    • nkeda14 August 10, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

      Yeah, that’s what I was thinking. I suppose everything is still in the works though, so I’m really not looking to mess with BTE’s title again until I know for sure what I want it to be. (That could be a while… lol)

      • Conjurer August 10, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

        If I may offer up a morsel of succulent advice (that sounds wrong, haha, I humbly apologize): before you complete the prequel (and sequel?) to BTE, change the titles accordingly. What can I say, readers love similarity…

  2. gabriellan August 11, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    “A Light that Shatters” is a really pretty title.

    Congrats on the new computer! I remember the first thing I did when I got my computer (gosh, I can’t believe she’s almost two years old) was put up a fun desktop background. What would a computer be without a cool background.

    Good luck getting around that block. I know you’ll figure it out 🙂

    • nkeda14 August 12, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      Thanks :/ I sure am trying!

      LOL I put up my cool background too… though i’m not really sure if a picture of a horse is cool? haha My childhood obsession still lives on apparently…

      PS: seen Juan lately? He has disappeared… I miss his blog :/

  3. juanvillagrana August 17, 2011 at 5:10 am #

    Ahh!!! I love it! DON’T change it! If you have to change BTE’s title, make sure it matches! That would be so cool. Just because I like matching series titles. Am I right?
    OH! And in regards to where I’ve been: taking an impromptu blog vacation-thing. I’ve tried to come back twice, but the Internect I’m Currently Mooching Off Of *lecough* was down on BOTH days. I’ll be back soon, though!
    =)

  4. nkeda14 August 17, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    glad to see you are alive lol! I have changed BTE’s title… though it has not be released yet!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A PAUSE & COVER REVEAL « Novel Ideas - August 31, 2011

    […] Opinions? Any annoyance at the fact that I’ve changed the title again? haha. How do you all think it goes with the prequel title/cover? […]

Leave a Reply

