Embracing The Suck

19 Aug

Hey all I’m sticking to my schedule! See I told you I would! Sadly today’s post is going into the  “Ally can’t think straight so she’s writing this post” category. You knew all these well structured informative posts would not last didn’t you? SIGH

So here is the deal, BTE is at a stand still a complete “deer in the headlights” kind of stop. I’m really not “stuck” per say… more like frozen with”THE SUCK”. Yeah…. THE SUCK. For those of you who have never embraced THE SUCK, then let me explain. THE SUCK, is the condition when you are utterly frozen by the complete grandeur of a project that you know you can not possibly bring to its full potential. Basically you realize your suckishness.

BTE had evolved into this huge giant scale (past weaving into future) thing! It’s totally intimidating just to open up a word document and try to start. I am, as I said, paralyzed by the fear of THE SUCK. My characters are becoming too much all their traits and details are getting too jumbled up in the space between my ears.

This is really a sign that I need to write, but the longer I wait, the more THE SUCK takes over, and the more I put it off. So friends I’m off to embrace the suck at some point this night, and just get this draft started in the semi-right direction.

Good news? School started this week. Okay that’s not that great of news… but the fact that it is Friday is amazing news! So TGIF everyone! Have you guys ever embraced the suck?

CURRENT MUSIC: The Funeral by Band of Horses ( Look it up guys!) 😉

2 Responses to “Embracing The Suck”

  1. gabriellan August 19, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    THE SUCK is a formidable enemy. I was completely overwhelmed by it when I was writing my last Angel book. I knew that no matter what I did, the book was going to suck terribly, because there was no way to pull it together after five books of suck. So at last I determined that not only would I accept the suckiness, I would make it the suckiest book ever!

    Now that my sanity has returned, I have no idea why that made me so happy.

    • nkeda14 August 20, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

      HAHA I guess we just have to get “THE SUCK” out of our systems sometimes!

Leave a Reply

