A Boo-Hoo Post

26 Aug

The funny thing about being a writer is that no matter how many times you do something, you never have it down. NEVER. I’ve probably written a thousand first pages, edited a hundred intros, and read both of those times a thousand, but I still don’t know what I’m doing.

I’m not sure if it really is because there isn’t a formula for writing, or if I’m just too stupid to see it. I’m getting ready to do a writing binge tonight/tomorrow and I’m really overwhelmed with the sheer massiveness of this project. It is HUGE. I feel like I’m juggling  a million things. Character, back story (also a prequel that must blend with BTE), plot, a bit of romance, and two separate but equal MC’s competing for their time in the book. BTE just feels massive at this point.

I know, I know, “If your going to eat an elephant you have to do it (say it with me) one bite at a time”, but have you  actually looked at an elephant recently? Can you imagine sitting down at the table and feeling so small and tiny with that large carcass? How can you even think to take the first bite? Well, I guess you just do.

So that, at this point, is my strategy DON”T THINK, JUST DO. It isn’t as if I don’t know the story it’s just intimidating seeing how much it has grown, you know? As of late, I’ve just been pretending nothing exists beyond the next line, though I’m starting to see that that will not help me resolve my “ending issues” (AKA the issue of not knowing how the book will, you know, end).

I’m really sorry about this boo hoo post. I’ll have something good for you all tomorrow, hopefully with a word count update. Any of you have elephants on your plates?

UPDATE: Also, be on the look out for a new Title release, a possible sneak peak of BTE D2, and maybe a book review at some  point in the near future?

7 Responses to “A Boo-Hoo Post”

  1. The Outcast August 27, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    Elephant is very tasty, once you get past the leather hide that is. ;D

    • nkeda14 August 27, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      hmmm is that so? I don’t think I’ve gotten past that yet. haha

      • The Outcast August 27, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

        Try it some day. Really.

  2. lily. August 27, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    Great post. I agree… although at this point, I’m used to starting huge projects I can never complete, and my “elephant” is when I realize I’m working on a hundred things at a time — and, at my slow pace, I will never make a dent in terms of word count… *not that I’m condoning eating elephants! XD*

    “Don’t think, just do” is a great motto. By the way, this *isn’t* a ‘boo hoo’ post! 😛

    • nkeda14 August 27, 2011 at 9:56 am #

      Ha thanks for saying so. I can’t help but feel like all I do is whine to you guys. 🙂 I used to have the same problem (what with the juggling too many things) perhaps a post is in order?

  3. harmamae August 27, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    I read somewhere that writing a book is like trying to paint a picture with your face pressed right up against the canvas – you try to keep the whole work in mind, but you can’t quite see the whole picture and how it works together. I think that’s pretty accurate. There’s so many different aspects to keep in mind when writing a novel!

    • nkeda14 August 27, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

      Wow *in awe of that metaphor*! That is an awesome way to think of it!

      Luckily, as writers, we can paint over each draft, and get a little more perspective after it is done!

Leave a Reply

