Re-Do & How to’s

27 Aug

Okay you all are going to think I’m crazy, like totally nuts.

I’m scrapping BTE D2. ALL of  it. I got about 5,000 words in tonight and then BAM I realized, it wasn’t working it was terrible. It’s not that “I suck as a writer” kind of terrible, it was “God this could be good, but its going in the totally wrong direction” type of terrible. And so all 5,000 words of  BTE D2 are being DELETED. Don’t I frustrate you all? Because, I frustrate myself to no end. Anyway I promised you all something “good” today, and since I can’t be counted on to give you any good advice right now other than the delete button I’m going to direct you to someone who can.

Maggie Stiefvater. She just posted a page full of links on her writing advice. It has a ton of great posts about novel-writing, editing, and querying so you all should head on over THERE to look at it!

Enjoy Maggie’s advice!

Also, wish me some luck on deleting things :/ Have any of you ever had to do this?

6 Responses to “Re-Do & How to’s”

  1. gabriellan August 28, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Ugh. The horrible need to delete. I had to scrap 3,000+ words four or five times when I was starting on this one darn project. It was so frustrating that I wanted to throw my computer off a thirty-story building. But hey, each time it got that much closer to where it actually should have been. Starting completely over can be easier than forcing it 🙂

    • nkeda14 August 28, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Yeah, because that is what I was doing FORCING IT. I just couldn’t continue to force the whole book. Hopefully a redo will fix it :/

  2. Liz Hellebuyck August 28, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    I did this recently. I started the second in my trilogy while my critique group was reading the first one. My critique group had really great ideas on how to enhance the first book, which changes the characters enough so that I had to scrap the first draft of book two. luckily I was only around 5,000 words as well. It could be worse. I could have written the whole thing before I realized it wasn’t going to work.

    I say, good job at figuring out that you needed to restart early. 😉

    • nkeda14 August 28, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

      *PHEW* at least it isn’t just me! Thanks for that, at least I know I’m not crazy… I thought I was when I decided to scrap it!

  3. Kylie September 5, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    After I wrote my first novel (a product of NaNoWriMo), my flash drive broke. I lost it all, but I had a printed copy. It ended up being so much better the second time around, though. Now I’m almost done!

    • nkeda14 September 5, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

      That is awesome! Not the flash drive breaking part LOL, but the it being almost done part. NaNo novels are never that great… they are much better in D2. BTE is a NaNo novel. I think i’ve said that before right?

Leave a Reply

