Why Writing Is Like Zumba Dancing

29 Aug

Hey, all I just got back from my Zumba class (I’m totally bushed, as you can imagine. An hour of nonstop Zumba will do that to you.) As I was Zumbaing away (if that’s a word) I got to thinking that taking a Zumba class is a lot like writing a novel.

The thing about Zumba (or any dance class for that matter), is that it is supposed to be fun. People do it because it is fun. But, Zumba also happens to be a lot of work. Writing is kind of the same. We do it because its fun, but it is also a ton of work! Most people (or me at least) go into Zumba just to take a dance class, and have some! Same with us writers. When we first start to write we’ll do it just because it seems fun ๐Ÿ™‚

And then it starts to become work. We realize that it isn’t all fun and games. That we’ll sweat, and tear muscles, and get tired and be generally sick ofย  it every now and then. They’ll be times when we have to force ourselves to go to class/write, and there will be times when we want to zip on over to our lab tops/studios early.

The important thing is that we realize that what we are doing IS FUN. Yes, IT IS FUN! Or, it should be. If writing/zumbaing isn’t fun (most of the time) for you then you shouldn’t be doing it. Or, at least, be doing it the way you are. A lot of times I think we get stuck in ruts. We force ourselves to write our manuscripts everyday (which occasionally has to be done of course) because we HAVE TO. But, why? Why force yourself when you can look forward to it?

My point: If writing isn’t feeling fun for you right now then switch it up. Work on something new that will be fun! Try doing a warm up flash fiction or do an interview with your MC. Do something that reminds you why you started dancing/writing in the first place! Or maybe just take a week off!

After all, if you don’t love it, why do it?

4 Responses to “Why Writing Is Like Zumba Dancing”

  1. gabriellan August 30, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I like this analogy ๐Ÿ™‚ I went to a zumba class at the local YMCA twice, I think. I thought I was going to die. Haha. Everybody was dancing away, and I couldn’t think any further than the next water break. But it was a lot of fun!

    • nkeda14 August 30, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      Yes I โค Zumba ๐Ÿ˜‰ even though it is a ton of work… I don't know how I will manage when track starts again!

  2. Jennifer Mandelas August 30, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    This is great! It’s important to remember why we write (or dance) in the first place.

    • nkeda14 August 30, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      Exactly ๐Ÿ™‚ I suppose that was the whole message of that ramble! haha

Leave a Reply

