Embrace “Psycho Writer”

21 Sep

As I mentioned a few posts ago I’ve come up with a new novel idea, and I’m all happy and glitter and Unicorns about it. This evening I was plotting it out. Or in other words, just making a list in OneNote of what I think will happen complete with exclamation marks, and random comments that just pop into my head.

When I’m roughing in ideas I’m really not being serious. I like to have fun with the idea, mess around with stupid fluff and just be free to type out whatever comes into my brain.

The problem? My brain is CRAZY! The plotting was going really well…. like too good to be true well, and then the CRAZY took over and I ended up with these bullets:

Yeah… The psycho plotting has begun again. I can almost remember doing this for The Shadows That Fell, though that seems like eons ago, and I was a really different writer at that time, plotting wise anyway.

Completing The Shadows That Fell has taught me something. And that is that sometimes you just have to EMBRACE THE PHYSCO WRITER in you.

Before STF I was way more up tight about plotting I use to stress myself out with drawing out a well structured outline and trying to type everything up nice and neat, so it would be easily understandable to a reader. What I didn’t realize is that YOUR OUTLINE IS NOT FOR YOUR READER. It is for you.

It’s not that I thought my readers would ever see the outline it was more that I thought if my outline wasn’t understandable and perfect my story wouldn’t be. For me that was totally the wrong way to look at it. When I tried to do outlines like that I would get frustrated and bored, then I would abandon it completely and pants the project. Which led to a lot of writers block and extra editing.

Now I’ve realized I just have to let go. I have to allow myself to write stupid things and just say what needs to be let out of my systems. Taking yourself too seriously, in writing, or in anything that you do isn’t healthy. The thing about writing is that you’re doing it because its FUN! Yes, FUN! You remember when it was like that, right?

So, the lesson for today:

Don’t take yourself, or your writing too seriously. You’ll inevitably frustrate yourself until the manuscript ends up in a slush pile.

Anyone else ever have this problem?

9 Responses to “Embrace “Psycho Writer””

  1. The Outcast September 22, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    You scare me sometimes…RUN AWAY! 😉

  2. peacesigngirl21 September 22, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Yes, yes, YES! I didn’t write for weeks because 1. School started and 2. I was being insanely lazy . . . heh. I haven’t blogged for like two weeks, and I’m so TIRED! 😀 I just now began writing again yesterday. XD
    I’m totally a “Psycho Writer”! (Plus I love the bullets!)

  3. gabriellan September 22, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    There’s nothing like really letting go in your writing, be it outline or the actual story. You get to do what you love and you never have to worry about it getting the once-over from anybody ^_^

  4. harmamae September 23, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    Yeah, you get crazy ideas when outlining. I can’t outline too strictly, because then I get bored writing the story because I already know every little detail that will happen. Let the crazy ideas come, discard them later.

  5. The Outcast September 23, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

    Also, not to be a annoyance, but it’s “Psycho” not “Physco” 🙂

    • nkeda14 September 24, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      God, I really wish I wasn’t responding to this, but I feel the need to defend myself. I SWEAR I can spell…. I’m not sure why I don’t catch these things. Honestly, I set myself up to look retarded. Me responding to this makes me look retarded. So, I think I’ll just stop now.

      Believe me, you are NOT an annoyance. Actually you are pretty much my spell check. Gee, I have issues!

      • The Outcast September 24, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

        A human spell check. My dream job. 😉

      • nkeda14 September 24, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

        isn’t it everyones? haha.

      • The Outcast September 25, 2011 at 6:41 am #

        I know, right?!!?

Leave a Reply

