Because It’s Personal…

27 Oct

I’ve always thought of reading as something very private. Not the books themselves, but the actual act of reading. I’ve always seen it as something very personal, like the author whispering a very private secret in your ear.

I suppose that is why I’ve always had a dislike for reading in class aloud, and audio books alike.

People say that “saying something aloud makes it real”. For a book, it seems the opposite. It unravels the delicate balance of fantasy and the connection to reality that we stand upon when our consciousness is fully enveloped in the story. For some reason uttering a characters thoughts makes them dissipate into just words for me.

Maybe that is why, because they are THOUGHTS. We unknowingly connect with the character we’re reading about as we scan the pages, we are totally hooked into their minds, their thoughts, their feelings. And that in itself if very personal. In our society no one ever says everything they are feeling. They aren’t an “open book” if you will, and when we read we see inside people. We get to see the deepest levels of that person, their darkest secrets, the hopes that they dare not admit they have to anyone, sometimes, not even themselves.

When I say or hear these things a loud it doesn’t make sense, because those are the kind of things that aren’t said aloud. EVER.

Am I being weird about this reading being a personal experience thing? Or do you guys disagree?

My whole life I’ve kind of viewed the pages of books like a silent kind of solace. One that envelopes you in a world that’s completely contained in your mind. It seemed kind of unsavory to release it from there (for me anyway).

How do you all feel about your reading experience?

9 Responses to “Because It’s Personal…”

  1. tamariez October 28, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    I love to read.. and while I don’t necessarily feel the same way as you do about reading being private, I do agree that one of the best things about reading is getting a chance to “get hooked to their minds, their thoughts, their feelings” of the characters.

    • nkeda14 October 28, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Yes, reading is amazing that way 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

  2. The Elite of Just Alright October 28, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    Personally, I despise reading with anyone but myself =D Bloody well written post too!

    • nkeda14 October 28, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      Thanks! haha

      • The Elite of Just Alright October 30, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

        Cheers!

  3. Michelle Isenhoff October 28, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    I know exactly what you’re talking about, Ally. I do like to read out loud with my kids. But when it’s just me and a book, anyone else butting in is like like having someone listen in on a private telephone conversation.

    • nkeda14 October 29, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

      That’s exactly how I feel! I suppose that seems odd to most people, but I just get so hooked into books!

  4. vaela November 9, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Oh I absolutely agree. I always always the weird kid who sat in a corner at school and read all day, but I despised forced-readings in english classes. I rememer when I was 16 I had to deal with this really young teacher, who hell, is about my age now when she was teaching us (barely a woman teaching near-adults…not good). She made us read all this crap out loud in class, forcing each person to read a paragraph. I would have to go along with it and then go home and re-read it all myself. I pride myself in my ability to read quickly and comprehend written words easily. But once you speak those words, it’s like you’ve changed it all. I can’t even read my own stuff out loud. It just sounds wrong.

    I can’t be bothered when I read. I bluntly tell people to leave me alone when I’m in the middle of a book I can’t put down. The easiest way to do this is to read in the bath, a really lovely experience when you feel like crap. Nothing like soaking your legs in hot soapy water and reading a fantastic book, not to be bothered by anyone.

    • vaela November 9, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

      I apologize for my incredibly long-winded response(s) but I also felt the need to add something kinda funny. My boyfriend likes to come sit with me while I’m trying to read and it’s a rather amusing experience. He tried to talk to me and I stare at the words, completely tuning him out, and he proceeds to throw a bitchfit because he’s not a book person…it’s hilarious. He would rather me join him watching the Vampire Diaries, which I consider a personal betrayal due to our mutual hatred for Twilight (though I must say, the TV show is far, FAR more entertaining than Twilight. I mean, it has a plot, for one thing, which definitely helps.)

      /end speech.

Leave a Reply

