NaNo 3 Tips on Day 3

3 Nov

NaNo has begun, and it’s been going great for me 🙂 As you all know I’m doing a collaboration novel with my critique partner Carolyn (something I’ve never even dreamed of attempting) and am loving it!

we’ve set it up so that we each do a chapter/section every other day (meeting the word count) and then send it back to the other via email. It’s working out really well, and having somebody else depending on your pages forces you to write!

Sadly not everybody has that to motivate them to write and so for you single NaNo goers I’ve decided to hand out my top three NaNo tips:

1) Get ahead on your word count. No, seriously, don’t look at me like I have three heads. I realize you already have to write over 1,600 words a day. What I recommend is just writing an extra two or three hundred words. I know that doesn’t seem like much but after a few days those will add up, so if you miss a day you won’t be behind. look at it this way, if you write an extra three hundred words for the first week that gives you an extra 2,100 words! That leaves you getting done a day and hale early, do that every day and you could be done four even five days early!

2) Don’t skip writing. Just because you apply point number one, and happen to have an extra 4,000 words in week two does NOT mean you can skip a day. This is the fastest way to lose NaNo. Believe me, I know. If you decide to take a break one day, you will give yourself a second day. NaNo is all about consistancy. Don’t get yourself out of that mind set, or you will most likely be doomed to fail. (I know what your thinking…. ‘she has to be fun at parties‘)

3)Delete your Internet short cut. I’m sure you’ve all heard the saying ‘there’s many a slip twixt the cup and lip’. Well, during NaNo it is more like, ‘there  is many a web page between You and WORD’. It’s easy to just click on your browser when booting up the computer to start writing. A fleeting whim to Google, or check your email will often pass your mind when things get sticky in Microsoft, and that page is looking awful, or when you just don’t want to write. Deleting your browser shortcut makes it harder to answer that impulse. If you delete  the shortcut you have to go through the start menu and programs just to boot up the internet. It will seem much less appealing then. I SWEAR it will not kill you to do this! It’s a small thing, but you will get a lot more done. And, you can always go back after November.

Those were my tips for the day! How is November (NaNo or not going for you all?)

16 Responses to “NaNo 3 Tips on Day 3”

  1. Brigid November 3, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I’m glad NaNo is going well for you! It’s been going wonderfully for me as well. I’m trying to cram in as much as possible in the first few days so I can just relax *cough* and actually do my homework *cough* for the rest of the month. 😉 I’m going to try to get to 20k before I go to sleep tonight. I’m rewarding myself with chocolate for every 1000 words…

    Good tips! That’s so true about the Internet. I can get sucked in for HOURS. In fact, that is what’s happening to me right now. *guilty* I would turn it off but … I LOVE IT SO MUCH. *sobs* Besides, I like to keep it open so I can update on the NaNo website, and do Word Wars with people online, etc…

    Anyway. Back to writing I go!!! (After I finish checking my email… x_x)

    • nkeda14 November 4, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      Wow 20K… That is a lot (better get to work then!) *feels slow* I’ve never written that much in one day… though the chocolate is a good idea, I may have to steal that!

  2. gabriellan November 4, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    I am horrible about letting the internet come between me and my writing. Sadly, Youtube calls to me like a deadly siren, and I end up watching all sorts of random movies and listening to Puerta Rican music (don’t ask) long into the night.

    That, or regaling my Facebook friends with an oh-so-exciting wordcount update every few minutes.

    The sad thing is, I’ve already deleted my internet shortcut.

    That’s really impressive that you’re not just NaNo-ing, but collaborating, too! That takes some serious skill.

    • nkeda14 November 4, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      Yes! The You-Tube…. it is like a black hole I swear!
      Thanks, but I assure you my half is just as crappy as any first draft 🙂 It’s really fun though!

  3. The Elite of Just Alright November 4, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    All I know is this…it’s No Shave November. THAT’S Priority Number One!

  4. harmamae November 4, 2011 at 1:17 pm #

    The internet is a scourge to my productive life… I never thought of deleting my browser shortcut though. Good idea.

    • nkeda14 November 4, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      Thanks! You should try it, it really does help!

  5. Kylie November 6, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    I’m glad NaNo’s going well for you.
    I have 12k of the worst novel anyone’s ever written. But I hear this is normal. And I’m having fun anyway! 😛

  6. vaela November 8, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    I found your blog while I was mindlessly searching for pictures of baby alligators, of all things, and I need to thank you for reviving the author in me. Writing has always been my passion but as of late I’ve been stuck in a hole I thought I would never get out of, but your blog reminded me that there is no better feeling than writing a good story. So thank you, and you have a new follower.

    • nkeda14 November 8, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

      Baby alligators make all kinds of good things happen! 🙂 I’m so glad to here that! I’m really happy to be the one that got you out of that hole! And THANK YOU for subscribing, and just commenting! It’s nice to know what you are doing is effecting other people. Good luck writing 😉

      • vaela November 9, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

        I do have a question for you and I hope you will happen to glance back at this comment because I’d love your thoughts on it. You seem very smart and definitely good at pushing yourself through a novel.

        I have started my NaNo story a few days late, so I am catching up. I currently have somewhere around 7600 words, which I don’t think is so bad as I started two days ago. However, I am writing from the heart because what got me in that hole I mentioned was obsessively plotting out my stories and characters so far that I got confused, bored and just plain disillusioned with my own story.

        I have now begun a fast-paced first-person story, which is a struggle for me although it’s been a blast writing it. I hate first person, at least writing it because I often feel it can be a cop-out. However,t his just feels right in first-person so I’m rolling with it.

        I began the story in first-person present tense with two alternating narrators. I then tried to gently segue into past tense because that’s just what I prefer to read and write, but it has been feeling so wrong in past tense that out of the blue, 5000 words later I switched it back to present tense, I had been slipping into it accidentally and I finally decided to just roll with it since it feels right.

        What I am writing, and whenever i finish it, it is going to be the roughest rough draft anyone ever wrote, I think, due to my switching tenses and random ideas, but I think as a whole with some editing it could work. Now what I am wondering from you, in your experience, is should I now go back and change what I wrote in past tense and fix it so it’s present, or should I keep writing and edit once it’s all over. As well as this, some things I wrote in the introduction of my story now don’t quite fit with how it’s evolved. Edit now or later, I suppose is my question?

        AND beyond that, (god, I seem to think you’re my therapist or something) I wonder about my judgment. I was writing happily when suddenly I realized that my urge to write in present tense, I think, has come from the book I am currently completely engrossed in, “The Quiet Game” by Greg Iles which I highly recommend btw. Anyway, it’s present tense and so I wonder if that is affecting my judgment in my own writing. Is this something I am doing due to what I am reading or should I stick with what I think feels right?

        God, my responses to your blogs could be blogs themselves! I am so sorry!

      • nkeda14 November 9, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

        It’s perfectly fine! Haha

        As far as editing goes (and this is just me) I NEVER edit during NaNo. For me Nano is just getting it all out there. Having a new direction for your story is great, but I would not go back and change the beginning. What I do is just type in caps at the point where I want to change something and make myself a little note like “THIS ISN”T SUPPOSE TO HAPPEN INSTEAD…” and then continue on with the story as if I had written it the ‘right’ way in the first place. This always keeps me from getting in an editing rut, and editing during NaNo will basically smash your word-count dreams into a metaphorical garbage can (I’ve tried, believe me!).

        As far as tense goes, I would say go with what feels right. Trying to force a tense is just going to make it difficult to write. Even if the tense is influenced by your current read. That isn’t a bad thing either. Emulating good writing is what we should try to do. It is how we learn. So, I would say do what makes it easiest for you to write. Later when you re-read you will realize one of two things. One, that the tense isn’t working and the only reason you used it was because of the book you were reading. In that case, all you have to do is write in a different tense in draft two (easy peasy fix there!). The other thing that may happen, is that you’ll read through it and realize that you actually like first person present tense a lot more. (Awesome! Write draft two that way). Either way, just go with what you feel like doing.

        Most importantly, remember that NaNo is suppose to be fun! And that no ones first draft is pretty. NO ONES. I assure you that some one out there has a first draft even worse than yours ( I know that doesn’t seem possibly now, but believe me. Look at mine or anyone else’s NaNo drafts and you won’t feel to terribly bad about yours!

        To sum up this equally long comment, just have fun with it and put as many ideas in that draft as you can! There are no wrong ideas!

        Hope I helped!

  7. vaela November 9, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    Thank you so much for your response! I will take your advice. It’s just what I needed to hear to keep me pushing forward!

    • nkeda14 November 10, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

      Glad I could help, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

