The Death Cure Review by James Dashner

8 Nov

It’s time for my first review ever! AHHH *and the crowd goes wild*… okay not so much, but anyway, back to the review. I’ve just finished The Death Cure by James Dashner, and for those of you who don’t know, this is the third book in the Maze Runner series.

This series, is about a group of kids that mysteriously awake in a ‘maze’ with no memory of who they are, or where they come from. All they know is that a mysterious group called WICKED is behind all of it, but is WICKED good? Or Bad?

In The Death Cure, Thomas (our MC) is faced with a lot of big decisions. Decisions that will reveal what WICKED has really been up to this whole time.

So what was my rating?

I’d have to give The Death Cure a 3 out of 5 stars. So, yes I liked it, but it wasn’t my favorite out of the series. For a couple of reasons.

For one, the Death Cure’s pacing was a little choppier than that of The Maze Runner, or The Scorch Trials. The book took off slowly for me, and didn’t really hit its stride until I’d gotten around 100 pages in. Even then, the tension seemed to go off and on for me, and I really wish the fluidity had been better. Thomas, as said in the outset, had big decisions to make and did face things in the Death Cure that were just as bad if not worse than the other two books, but some of these didn’t seem to contribute to the overall continuation of the books plot, and the ‘solution’ to the questions we’ve been asking through out the series.

Secondly, Teresa who was one of the main characters in book one and two had very little involvement in book three. She was scarcely mentioned at the outset, and only comes back into play within the last thirty pages of the book. Over all, I was very disappointed with the role Teresa played in book three. She was one of my favorite characters, and fell very flat in The Death Cure.

Finally, The Death Cure left quite a few loose ends, which I would have liked to see tied up. Most of them involving WICKED and there very well kept secrets. The other things that left us hanging involved Teresa and Thomas’ relationship.

But, fear not. The Death Cure wasn’t all bad. The climax Dashner presents for us, is all the gore, tension, and emotion we’ve dreamed of. And, just when you think he couldn’t pull another twist out of the Maze Runner’s plot, well, you’d be wrong. There is plenty to look forward to in The Death Cure. Including a few characters coming back, and few being lost to us (though I won’t say who). I swear I didn’t see it coming!

To sum it up, if you’ve read books one and two, it is well worth your while to finish the series, even if the ending isn’t what you expect!  And, if you haven’t read the Maze Runner, I would definetly recommend running out and snagging it off the shelves! These books are well worth the read!

So, have you all read any of the books? Did you like them/hate them? Let me know in the comments!

I hope you all enjoyed this review and look forward to the next one on SISTERS RED BY JACKSON PEARCE.

16 Responses to “The Death Cure Review by James Dashner”

  1. Brigid November 8, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Yaaaay your first review! *cheers* And what a fantastic review it is!

    Hmm, I’m still debating over whether or not I want to read The Death Cure. I’ve had a lot of issues with the series––mostly concerning the pacing of the plot and the adding of seemingly meaningless twists, not to mention that I don’t like Thomas as a main character. But I guess I care enough at least to skim through the third one just to see what happens. Thanks for sharing your opinion!

    • nkeda14 November 9, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Thanks!
      I think you should at least skim it. The ending isn’t one I thought about at all, and the climax was actually pretty good (the best part of the book really).

      I agree with you about the pacing though, it does have issues especially in book two. And, as you said there were a few un-needed twists in both books. There is one, in my opinion, in the death cure too that I wasn’t really happy with, but I guess that was to be expected.

      You’ll have to tell me what you think when you read it!

  2. Adam November 8, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    I don’t know, the first book was interesting but it didn’t blow me away. The second book I thought was much better than the first and I was looking forward to the third book. Unfortunately, the third book didn’t work for me at all. Everything felt forced in the book, Thomas was irritating throughout the book, and I really didn’t think anything was resolved by the end. Also, the worldbuilding fell apart for me at the end. The final explanation of the Flare disease combined with the actual solar flares completely fell apart for me. There were interesting aspects to the series, but overall I thought it fell apart.

    • nkeda14 November 9, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      There were A LOT of loose ends, I agree. But, I think Dashner was trying to be obscure, and let the readers draw there own conclusions. But, it failed miserably. I think through out the series he relied a lot upon what WE DIDN”T know to pull us through the books, but when it came time to deliver the answers, they just weren’t there. it wasn’t my favorite in the series, that’s for sure.

      • Anonymous December 16, 2011 at 1:00 am #

        Exactly, i agree with u 100%. I mean, come on Dashner! The ending really sucked and he didn’t even get his memories back.

      • nkeda14 December 16, 2011 at 11:40 am #

        Yes! That was what was most irritating for me. Through out books one and two, Dashner hinted at memories we never got to understand. I was very upset when he didn’t let us see them fulfilled.

        Thanks for commenting!

  3. Michelle Isenhoff November 9, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    I really liked The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials not so much, and this one somewhere in the middle. I’d probably agree with your 3/5 stars. I wish we had more questions answered. There was a vagueness to all the books that drove me crazy. But it was engaging enough that I had to keep reading. And, yeah, what was he thinking replacing Teresa with Brenda, the dummy!

    Excellent, well-thought-out review.

    • nkeda14 November 9, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      Personally, The Death Cure was my least favorite. Though, I think I liked the scorch trials only slightly better just because the Thomas/Teresa dynamic was still there.

      I really didn’t like Brenda in either book, and was insanely upset with how things turned out (or didn’t) with Thomas and Teresa. It left a lot of un-resolved matters for us to think about, and I found that upsetting.

      And thanks!

  4. Will November 13, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    I just stayed up all night finishing The Death Cure. Then, I see Teresa has died and I’m suddenly crushed. Teresa. I hoped very much that there would be a happier ending between her and Tom (including children and marriage!) but no. We have her crushed. Literally. Gah. My soul has been smashed. I demand a rewrite! If we could keep most of the book except for Teresa’s death……

    • nkeda14 November 13, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

      Yes… I was so angry! I liked Teresa a lot… and Dashner really screwed up their ending in my opinion. I’m really just sad that it is over 😦
      Thanks for commenting!

      • Michael Luo December 16, 2011 at 1:08 am #

        I agree with u 100%. I mean, come on! No cure, no memories back, a million questions unanswered(including why Brenda told Thomas to only trust Paige). And where the HELL did the flat-trans take them anyways?! Excuse my language, but i just wanna sit down and have a little talk with Dashner and tell him how much he screwed up in the third book.

      • nkeda14 December 16, 2011 at 11:37 am #

        Well, there were some redeeming parts, I thought that a lot of the subplot with Newt was done nicely, but your right. The ending was very disappointing for 😦 But, I think he tried to leave it open, for the reader to decide. Some people like those kinds of endings. Personally, I don’t, but that’s a matter of opinion. The Death Cure definitely had some major plot holes.

        Thanks for commenting 🙂 I hope you stick around for more reviews!

  5. Reeze December 26, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    I’m going to pretend I never read this book and make up my own ending where Newt doesn’t die and Thomas and Teresa live happily ever after with their memories restored. 😐

    • nkeda14 December 26, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      Yeah… I thought just the same!

      Thanks for commenting!

  6. vfkfdvkoregk June 6, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    this guy should really post a drawing of thomas

    • Paul January 17, 2013 at 12:31 am #

      yea i liked book 2 the best and then maze runner was 2 nd favorite the death cure was my least it sucked the end it was just sucky wish it was a better ending! book 1 when chuck died i hated that part like y did he have to die and did u know theres a 4th book its about thomas life before he went in wicked when he was working for wicked! cant wait to read that!

Leave a Reply

