Collage Brainstorm Your Novel!

13 Nov

Hey all, today I thought i’d do a post on a plotting/brainstorming system i’ve been messing around with.

I call it Collage Plotting.

People learn and perceive things in a lot of different ways, and that leads to different ways of processing information and, thus to different ways of plotting/brainstorming. No two brains work in exactly the same way, and so i’d thought i’d share a method of plotting/brainstorming that is a bit different from the norm.

I started using the collage for my novel CARVE. I was finding it very difficult to write out what was happening. With CARVE, I had a ‘feeling’ for the novel. A kind of atmosphere that I couldn’t project properly into an outline, and so I took the age-old saying ‘a picture is worth a thousand words, and began (unknowingly) creating a cool method for plotting.

And here is the result of CARVE’s growing Collage outline:

So, as you can see it is pretty self-explanatory, you COLLAGE YOUR BOOK. For me it’s taken out a lot of the pressure of planning, it allows me to free form my ideas and just slap ’em on there! It’s more or less the inspiration page for your book!

I’ve found that this is really good to do if you’re stuck planning, or if your stuck in the middle rut of writing. It helps you remember why you wanted to write the book, and does a really good job of inspiring you!

I use OneNote from Microsoft 2010 to create my collage from photos I see online, or from quotes I hear that I think go well with the book. But, if you don’t have OneNote I would recommend going to pinterest.com. This site is basically a collageing site that allows you to snag photos from other people’s collage’s or just anywhere on the net (giving the rights of those photo’s to their respective owners of course!).

It’s been a great resource for inspiring me, and always has something  new to see whenever you log in.

So, check out pinterest.com and if your feeling very generous, add me as someone you follow (nkeda14) and I will add you. The inspiration will just keep growing!

I hope you all try this out!

What do you all think? Yeah or nay?

7 Responses to “Collage Brainstorm Your Novel!”

  1. Brigid November 13, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    This is a really cool idea! Images always help to inspire me. (Usually when I’m out of inspiration, I make covers for my book and that makes me want to write it more…) I love your collage! It totally makes me want to read the story. 😀

    I will definitely try this! (And maybe post it on my own blog. Hmm. 😉 I would give you credit for the idea of course!) I’ve never heard of pinterest, but I often use Picasa to make collages. (It’s a free photo editing tool on Google and it has a cool collage-making function.)

    • nkeda14 November 13, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 Glad you like the collage.

      Yes! Definitely try it! i would love to see it show up on your blog 😀 Pinterest is pretty cool, but I’ve never heard of Picasa, I will have to give it a try!

  2. jimrosswriting November 13, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    I have honestly never heard of this before, but it sounds like a really good idea – I’m going to give this a go tomorrow. Thanks for posting about this and giving us all the chance to try it out!

    • nkeda14 November 13, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      You’re welcome! I hope you have fun!

      Thanks for commenting.

  3. The Elite of Just Alright November 15, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

    Is it “college” or “collage?” Two VERY different things haha but you use them interchangeably here…

    • nkeda14 November 16, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

      Yeah, College is like school… typo, oh well. I suppose I’ll go fix it…

Leave a Reply

