Sisters Red Review by Jackson Pearce

17 Nov

Sisters Red is a charming fairytale re-telling of ‘Red Riding Hood’. (if not slightly more… dark!) A quick read, Jackson’s tale of two red caped sisters who have spent their lives hunting the fenris (were-wolves), will keep you on your toes. Scarlett and Rosie (our fenris hunting girls) have been hunting since a Fenris killed their grandmother when they were children. They are skilled at the hunt, but in Sisters Red they must face their biggest challenge yet. A hunt for something outside the Fenris, something that may lead them deeper than ever into the were-wolf world.

I have been guiltily following Jackson’s blog for months now, and had not had the chance to read her books. Finally, though, I got my hands on her novel Sisters Red, and I was not disappointed. If you are looking for something that shows the darker, more classic side of were-wolves, with a dash of HUMAN romance, and the unique dynamic of two very different sisters, than this is the book for you.

Pearce does an amazing job of weaving in deliciously descriptive and emotional back-story with a steady, fenris-fighting filled plot. There wasn’t too much I didn’t like about this book. But, I had to give Sisters Red a 3.5 out of 5 stars.

The main reason being that Jackson didn’t achieve all I had hoped in Sister’s Red. Have you ever had that feeling after reading a book, that it was good, but it should have been MORE? It should have been a little deeper? This is how I felt after finishing Sisters Red. Yes, it had a good steady pull on the plot. Yes, it had some romance. And, sure, the climax satisfied the reader, but had Pearce dug just a little deeper into the world of Sister’s Red I think that the climax and characters would have been even better.

There were brilliant moments in Sisters Red. Moments where I was sure I’d be giving it 4 even 5 stars, but there were also lulls in the plot that I wished Pearce had tightened up a bit.

Over all, I would say that if you’re looking for a quick, face paced read, then Sisters Red would be a great choice. I’ll be recommending it to friends for sure!

If nothing else then the fact that the next book on my review list is SWEETLY (also by Jackson Pearce) should speak for itself.

My point: Sisters Red is definitely worth your time.

Have any of you heard of or read Sisters Red? Will you be reading it in the future?

4 Responses to “Sisters Red Review by Jackson Pearce”

  1. tamariez November 17, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Definitely piqued my interest.. I will have to put it on my wish list.

  2. The Elite of Just Alright November 18, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    Sounds scary…O.O. 😉 hahahaha j/k

  3. harmamae November 18, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

    Sounds like an interesting concept!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweetly Review by Jackson Pearce « NOVEL IDEAS - November 25, 2011

    […] novel, blowing it away with the sort of depth that I found lacking in Sisters Red (see review HERE). I found the tale very fanciful, and liked the fact that, even though it was a companion novel, it […]

Leave a Reply

