NaNo: Reflecting on Collaborating

21 Nov

Yesterday, Carolyn and I had a brainstorm session. For those of you don’t know Carolyn is my fabulous critique partner/friend/co-author of my NaNo novel this year. Any-who, we decided this past week that our NaNo novel (That which we are referring to as ABLAZE) needed some serious back story/plotting help and so we drove over to our local library. Which by the way has awesome coffee seating area on the second floor. With extremely comfy very, java/hipster-esque chairs.

Carolyn & I looking a bit too smiley

And can I just say that writing a novel with one of your best friends is possibly one of the FUNNEST EXPERIENCES I’VE EVER HAD! Seriously, Carolyn and I are very much on the same page. Plotting with another person (one with awesome tastes in books) is a lot like discussing an insanely awesome already written book.

I swear to you there were ideas flying left and right. As soon as I had something to say, she had another thing to add-on or, another way of looking at it that was just as amazing (if not more so). And… yeah I’d like to think it went both ways. Haha!

I was really nervous about doing a collaboration novel, just because I was scared that I would lose control. Or that the novel would turn into something I didn’t like, or I didn’t feel like it was something I would pick myself. And some of the stuff isn’t. It isn’t stuff I would have thought of. But it’s good. It’s damn good! *pardon my french* But, the thing is, is that this novel is my project, it is both of us. Honestly, I think a lot of what has made this work out so far is that Carolyn and I have known each other all our lives, (so we are kind of in sync) and also that we have very similar tastes in books, and music.ย  I guess you could say that blending our two styles, and ideas was a lot easier because of that.

I really think that collaborating (thus far) has been a really positive experience for me as a writer. I have always liked bouncing my ideas off others, and being able to have constant streams of ideas going in and out, has really allowed me to focus on the structure of my writing, and less on the details.

It seems a lot easier for me to talk through my ideas first, and yesterday at the library we were just ON FIRE. (haha you know what I’m talking about Carolyn ๐Ÿ™‚) I’m feeling really good about our novel, even if we are a little behind on word count, I definitely think we’ll finish up this draft and cont’ to work on it in the future.

I just wanted to let you all know what was going on. How is NaNo, or just November treating you all?

6 Responses to “NaNo: Reflecting on Collaborating”

  1. Brigid November 21, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    That’s so cool! I’ve tried collaborating with other writers before, but it’s never really worked out. Hopefully I’ll get to have more positive experience with it someday!

    NaNo is going well for me. I reached 50k words and I’m kind of torn about what to do next. I think I’m going to switch over to another story for the rest of the monthโ€“โ€“something I’d been working on before NaNo which I feel guilty about not working on. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Hope you have a happy Thanksgiving!

    P.S. You and Carolyn are both so pretty! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • nkeda14 November 21, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

      I think it’s all about finding someone you work well with ๐Ÿ™‚

      Lucky! I can’t imagine being done EARLY! I have a tough time getting my 50K in by Nov. 30th at Midnight… I actually finished last years at like 11:45 PM on the last day…. yeah close I know!

      Thanks Hope your thanks giving is happy as well!

      PS: LOL thank you for saying so ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. harmamae November 22, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

    Sounds like fun! Glad it’s working out.

  3. The Elite of Just Alright November 24, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    How can you possibly be TOO smiley??

    • nkeda14 November 24, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

      When you are up to mischief! haha

      • The Elite of Just Alright November 25, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

        oooh *shakes head* in that case, I’m afraid I’m gonna have to ask you to…carry on. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

