Sweetly Review by Jackson Pearce

25 Nov

There is something darkly delicious about Jackson’s writing in SWEETLY. It’s a story about Gretchen, a seventeen year old girl, who finds herself (along with her brother Ansel) blown into the small town of Live Oak, South Carolina. They soon stumble upon ‘The Chocolatier’ a candy shop run by the infamous Sophia Kelly. Despite the rumors that surround Sophia, Gretchen and her brother move in. Assisting Sophia at the shop. But as the summer drags on, Gretchen begins to see that something sinister surrounds Sophia, and with the help of Samuel Reynolds (the town ‘lunatic’) she begins to understand that Sophia’s candy shop isn’t so sweet after all.

After reading Sisters Red I was excited to see what Jackson had in-store for us in Sweetly! For me Sweetly out did its companion novel, blowing it away with the sort of depth that I found lacking in Sisters Red (see review HERE). I found the tale very fanciful, and liked the fact that, even though it was a companion novel, it still kept us in the Sister’s Red world, but in a new kind of perspective. For me Sweetly felt more real, and the characters were very easy to connect with. For me, everything felt richer in Sweetly. I felt totally immersed in Gretchen’s world! It felt like a fairytale, but at the same time, it felt very grounded in the real world. While Sister’s Red felt a bit more story book like.

Another big turn in Sweetly was the romance. Gretchen’s love interest, wasn’t at all what I expected, but I still loved him to death.I really like the turn Jackson put on him, since he was so different from Sister’s Red boy. After all, how many people fall in love with the town lunatic?

Over all Jackson kept it very witty, and fun, while at the same time keeping that dark undertone that was so alluring in Sisters Red.

For all these reasons, I’m giving Sweetly 4 out of 5 stars.

The only reason it didn’t earn a perfect five being that I found Sweetly a tad bit predictable. About 3/4 of the way through the book I had the ending pinned. Not to say, I was bored from that point on, I wasn’t, but I still wished so much hadn’t been revealed so quickly. Even if I did have the ending pretty much down, there was a nice (but small) twist at the end that will leave you wondering about Jackson’s next companion novel FATHOMLESS (release date: 2012) which clearly leads in from Sweetly’s setting.

If you liked Sisters Red then you will LOVE Sweetly. I highly recommend that you go out and take a look at it, even if you haven’t read Sisters Red (though, I recommend you do).

If you would like to know more about SWEETLY take a look at THIS PAGE.

I hope you all enjoyed this review. My next review will be on RIPPLE by Mandy Hubbard.

Hope you all had a wonderful Turkey day!

One Response to “Sweetly Review by Jackson Pearce”

  1. Brigid November 25, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Great review! I’ve been meaning to read Sisters Red for a while, and this one sounds interesting too…

Leave a Reply

