Best YA Book Covers: 2011

7 Dec

Hey all, it’s time for NI Awards installment one! The best YA book covers of 2011! There were some stunning covers this year, but here are my top ten. Click on any of the links to learn more about what’s behind the beautiful dust-jackets! After all, sometimes you can judge a book by it’s cover!

10.

Starting off 2011 (on Jan 3.) and starting off our list of covers is Entice by Carrie Jones. I’m a huge fan of the books, and the covers are just as stunning as the content!

9.

Next is Eve by Anna Carey. I haven’t read this one yet, but the gorgeous cover, and promising premise of a  deadly virus, and suspect cure have put it on the top of my to read list!

8.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi wins spot number eight for it’s unique use of glitter, and a dress almost as beautiful as the prose between the pages. (Win an ebook of Shatter me by clicking HERE!)

7.

Wither by Lauren DeStefano falls into spot seven, for its gorgeous and unique cover. I love the mix of hard geometric lines, that emphasize certain aspects of the photograph. One, I might add, that would of be gorgeous enough by itself!

6.

A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan won me over with it’s simplicity. A white background with bold pinks and blues, makes it stick out among shelves of photographed covers.  Not only an interesting mix of colors on the cover, but a mix of sci-fi and fairytale intermingle in this intergalactic tale of sleeping beauty!

5.

As soon as I saw Luminous by Dawn Metcalf I knew I wanted to read it. Warm reds, butterflies, and a striking portrait style pose make this book jump off the shelf.

4.

I read Across The Universe by Beth Revis this past year and was pleased to find that the cover spoke volumes about the contents! This is one of my favorite books of twenty-eleven, with a cover to match it!

3.

Forever by Maggie Stiefvater, slides into the top three. I loved every letter of the “Wolves of Mercy Falls” series, and Forever, with it’s lovely hand-painted-looking cover, and signature blood splatter was no exception!

2.

The hauntingly ‘weightless’ image on the front of  Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma instantly captures your attention. If any picture is worth a thousand words, this one is it!

1.

My favorite YA book cover of 2011 defiantly goes to Shattered Souls by Mary Lindsey. The cover art is total ecstasy, from the slightly abstract feel of the model, to the background coloration I love every inch of this cover and it, in my opinion deserves the top spot here on the NI awards! So, congratulations Mary Lindsey, Shattered Souls has just been voted:

BEST BOOK COVER OF 2011!

What was your favorite book cover of the year?

Don’t forget to comment and link to get a chance to win Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi!

5 Responses to “Best YA Book Covers: 2011”

  1. Brigid December 8, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Awesome! I especially like the covers of Forever, Across the Universe, and Imaginary Girls… those were some of my favorites from this year, too. 🙂

    • nkeda14 December 8, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

      Yeah, Imaginary Girls is just so unique, I love the orientation on the picture, it forces you to look at it longer. 🙂

  2. gabriellan December 8, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Luminous may have one of the most gorgeous covers I’ve ever seen. All of the covers are gorgeous (I want to read all those books now!), but I can see why Shattered Souls takes the prize.

    I think my favorite novel cover for this year is the US hardcover version of Eona: Dragoneye Reborn. It’s amazing. The first novel’s cover is even more awesome, but they’re both gorgeous.

    • nkeda14 December 8, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

      Hmm haven’t heard of that one! I’ll have to look it up. I can’t wait to get my hands on Luminous, I haven’t had a chance to read it yet!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan Review « NOVEL IDEAS - December 17, 2011

    […] A Long, Long Sleep out of sheer curiosity. Besides the fact that the cover is gorgeous ( and made the top ten covers of 2011) the premise is very […]

Leave a Reply

