Ripple by Mandy Hubbard Review

13 Dec

Mermaids? Sirens? I said to myself. REALLY? Is it utterly necessary to read a book that involves such things? Especially since it has been speculated that the recent boom in ‘mermaid books’ was sprung by Stephanie Meyers hint that that was what she wanted to do next. But,when I saw Ripple’s cover I couldn’t resist! I mean, what did I have to lose? 3 hours of my life, and possibly any respect I had for The Little Mermaid, there is that, but it didn’t deter me and I’m glad!

Ripple, by Mandy Hubbard, is a story about a girl named Lexi; who after the tragic and ‘accidental’ death of her boyfriend, finds herself captive of a dark curse. The curse of being a siren. Every night she journeys up to her secret lake where she is cursed to swim and never sleep. She must keep away from the ocean or risk drowning any male that is near enough to hear her song. But, one day, Cole Hitching’s shows up at her lake, and Lexi’s life slowly begins to snowball out of control. She is drawn back into her crowd of old friends, and she fears she may lose control of all the walls she’s tried so hard to keep up.

It certainly didn’t hurt to read this book, I went into it not expecting too much at all, but was fairly surprised with what I got. I’m giving ripple 3 out of 5 stars. The best thing about the book was definitely the mythology. It’s strongest scenes surround Mandy’s original spin on mermaids. (and not only mermaids but Nixes too, don’t know what those are? I didn’t either until I read the book!) The curse, and it’s aftermath are definitely the reason Ripple got an extra star out of me.

The other thing that really stuck out to me about Ripple was Lexi’s ‘relationship’ with her ex-boyfriend. Mandy does a very good job of showcasing Lexi’s grief, and self-loathing in Ripple, and the emotion really comes through in the writing. Even if other parts fell flat.

The things that redeemed Ripple though, couldn’t completely conceal the shallow shadows of her ‘friends’ and Lexi’s borderline annoying snap decisions and inconsistencies. Hubbards, secondary characters and Lexis so-called friends really fell flat for me. Most of them were little more than cardboard cut outs of every Bring it On Movie/Popular crowd flick you can think of, and I found that really disappointing, as I thought that deepening the secondary characters would have made Lexi’s battle with trying to do the right thing more intense.

The other problem I had with Lexi is that she seemed to make a lot of very quick decisions, and at times this made the book seem rushed, as if we were just reading a chapter of filler to get to the ‘good stuff’. But, the ‘good stuff’ was pretty good!

So, if you are a hold out on mermaid novels then I would say give Ripple by Mandy Hubbard a try. As over all, the book was pretty good. It didn’t knock my socks off, but it wasn’t terrible either. If you’re looking for a light, leaves you feeling all happy read then Ripple would be a good choice.

I hope you all check out Ripple. Look out for my next review of A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan.

UPDATE: Sorry I haven’t been doing much  on here all, I am studying for finals right now, and will be doing a lot more over winter break which starts next week! Until then, take a look at Ripple or another book I’ve reviewed.

4 Responses to “Ripple by Mandy Hubbard Review”

  1. Brigid December 13, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    Hmm, I’ve seen this book before. I think because Mandy Hubbard is also a literary agent and I was researching her. XD Sounds kinda cool. And I like the cover. I might give it a try! 🙂

    • nkeda14 December 14, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      Its a good little read if you have nothing pressing to attend to. I saved it for a rainy rather boring day and had some real fun with it.

      I didn’t know she was an agent. I’ll have to look into this!

  2. harmamae December 14, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I had no idea mermaids were the new “thing.” Guess I’ll have to keep my eyes open, and see where the fad goes 🙂

    • nkeda14 December 14, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

      OH yes, mermaid books have been hitting the YA shelves in droves, its frightening really!

Leave a Reply

