Winter FF Contest! Win ClockWork Prince by Cassandra Clare!

15 Dec

With cold days upon us, keeping us all indoors, what is there better to do than write the winter away?

Here, at Novel Ideas, we can’t think of anything better! And that is why, with the support of WovenMyst (an awesome book blog) and it’s administer Hiba, we’re doing a Flash Fiction contest this winter! The contest is called ‘On Thin Ice’ and it’s bound to be heaps of fun.

We’ll be asking our readers, and their friends, family, and even their grumpy neighbors to drop on by either of our sites, find our email, and submit their writing to win an e-reader copy of Cassandra Clare’s new novel “THE CLOCKWORK PRINCE” (Book two of the infernal devices series)!

So, what are the rules for this winter themed writing bananza?

1. You must start your piece with this line:
The ice crackled like fire under my feet…

2. You’re piece cannot be longer than 600 words and no shorter than 300 words.

3. You must submit your piece between the dates of December the 15th (today) and January the 15th 2012 midnight (EST).

4. You must submit your manuscript to the Novel Ideas site email (novelideasblog@gmail.com)

I hope you all will participate and help spread the word about our contest! The more people who participate the more often we can have these contest, and prizes for you all! While you think up your genius flash fiction, stop on by WovenMyst to see what Hiba’s up to!

16 Responses to “Winter FF Contest! Win ClockWork Prince by Cassandra Clare!”

  1. Brigid December 15, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Ooh, sounds awesome! And I really want that book…
    I’ll just have to think of an idea first. 😛

    • nkeda14 December 16, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      Can’t wait to see your entry Brigid!

  2. Anonymous December 15, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Clockwork Prince was AMAZING!

    • nkeda14 December 15, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      I do so love Cassandra Clare! So of course it was! 😉

  3. gabriellan December 16, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    This is so awesome! I love flash fiction contests! *opens a new Word document*

    • nkeda14 December 16, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

      I’ll be waiting for your submission! 😉

  4. Sarah December 29, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    Ooh! I loved Clockwork Prince. And I want it sooo bad! This is a greaat idea(:
    Around how many people are going to be in this contest?

    • nkeda14 December 29, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      How ever many enter by the 15th. There’s no telling how many, as I’m taking entries from wordpressers, and non-wordpressers.
      And thanks 🙂 I hope to see an entry!

  5. RaeAnn January 8, 2012 at 12:18 am #

    Does flash fiction means fiction in the sense of fantasy literally?

    =/ I’m thinking of joining…but then, I’m not good at short passages, nor long novels for that matter too…
    Plus, I’m just too lazy! Should I or should I not?

    • nkeda14 January 9, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      You should definitely join! It’s open to all genres!

      • Svetlana January 19, 2012 at 4:01 am #

        A fascinating contest! The topic is really inspiring. I am so eager to learn the results!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Novel Idea Awards: Best Blog Series! « NOVEL IDEAS - December 26, 2011

    […] be sure to enter the ON THIN ICE FLASH FICTION CONTEST for a chance to win CLOCKWORK PRINCE BY CASSANDRA CLARE! GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); […]

  2. 2011 In Review & 2012 What’s New « NOVEL IDEAS - January 1, 2012

    […] hosting a flash fiction contest that you all are very welcome to participate in (you can find that HERE), and win Clock Work Prince by Cassandra […]

  3. I Need My Calendar | Of a Writerly Sort - January 2, 2012

    […] way I’m sure not to forget anything. When I can’t see the deadline for Ally’s On Thin Ice Flash  Fiction contest, bad things may […]

  4. To: All My Lovely Readers! « NOVEL IDEAS - January 9, 2012

    […] just wanted to remind you all to ENTER THE FLASH FICTION contest I have running right now! SERIOUSLY GO DO IT NOW! Please! If you do you’ll have a chance to will CLOCKWORK PRINCE by Cassandra Clare, so you […]

  5. Encouraging Your Writer Buddies | Of a Writerly Sort - January 10, 2012

    […] – totally unrelated: Ally, I just have to trim a few words off my On Thin Ice entry and then I’ll be sending it to you! People, if you haven’t entered this contest, […]

Leave a Reply

