A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan Review

17 Dec

I haven’t read very many good YA Sci-Fi novels. In-fact, I haven’t read many Sci-Fi novels period. But, I picked up Anna Sheehan’s novel A Long, Long Sleep out of sheer curiosity. Besides the fact that the cover is gorgeous ( and made the top ten covers of 2011) the premise is very unique.

Basically, A Long, Long Sleep is a story about a girl named Rosalinda who has been in cryostasis for over 60 years and is suddenly awoken by CPR (which she mistakes for a kiss). She wakes in the basement of her old home, to find that all of her family, friends, and her boyfriend Xavier are dead; and that her fathers interplanetary company Uni-corp is now hers. Weak from stasis-fatigue and grieving for her family, Rosalinda is confronted with issues she’d never believed she would have to deal with. Ones from a past darker than she ever let herself believe.  A Long, Long Sleep is an intergalactic tale of sleeping beauty that will leave you breathless.

This is honestly one of the most emotionally moving novels I have read in a long, long time. (catch the joke?) And that is why I am giving A Long, Long Sleep 5 out of 5 stars!

A Long, Long Sleep isn’t a Sci-Fi novel really. The more i read, the more I realized that A Long, Long Sleep, is a novel about acceptance, and loss. It’s not a novel about future technology or big brother. Even though it does have elements of Sci-Fi, A Long, Long Sleep turned out to surpass those themes and created somethings so much bigger.

I found myself crying on more than one occasion reading this book. There was a lot of heart break, and loss… acceptance. And sometimes I found myself crying about the  beautiful way Sheehan painted Rosalinda’s life before stasis. The love that She had for Xavier, and the struggle she has with herself to be strong and proper as pressure is put on her by her fathers company about maintaining her public image.

But in the end this book wasn’t all sad. I found myself smiling with a little tinge of hope at parts, as Rosalinda deals with finding her place among (unexpected) friends, and finding love again, if that’s even possible.

Along with this all encompassing love, and the completely heart consuming loss I felt through out the book, there was also the thrill of suspense that Anna Sheehan manages to deliver. Along with Rosalinda’s journey to regain a life, there is something sinister going on behind Uni-corp. Something that may very well kill her!

With it’s Sinister Suspense, Heartbreaking loss, Painful acceptance, and cautious friendships, A Long Long sleep is definitely one of my favorite books of the year. I think all it’s theme’s are very relate-able to teens (and all people really). Who hasn’t felt the awkwardness of trying to be accepted? The stumbling in the dark of loss? The fear of the future, and the ache of the past? This book really connected with me, and I expect it will, and has done so for many others.

Possibly, the thing I loved best about A Long, Long Sleep, is Rosalinda herself. She is one of the STRONGEST female leads I’ve read in YA fiction in a while (I’m sure someone will disagree with me, but I digress). Rosalinda, maintains her air of strength above all else in the first part of A Long, Long Sleep. Even though she struggles with her loss, and the shock of waking up to find she’s slept for over 60 years she deals with it fairly well. Watching Rosalinda struggle to maintain the walls she’s built and overcome her own fears is one of the most empowering things I’ve read in a long time. She handles herself  with grace, even in her weakened body.Seeing Rosalinda rip free from the bonds of her strict childhood, was amazing, and even when she looses control of her feelings, she looks to herself first for what she needs, and it was awesome to find a protagonist who could handle herself WITHOUT her boyfriend by her side.

I sincerely hope you all go out and read A Long, Long Sleep! I really enjoyed it, and think you will too. I’m now off to go by a personal copy of the novel myself!

3 Responses to “A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan Review”

  1. Brigid December 17, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Awesome! I’ve seen this book around (and I love the cover) but I didn’t know it was about until now. It sounds really cool! I’ll have to check it out. Sounds a bit like that other book, Across the Universe… only hopefully a lot better, because both the main characters in that book were kind of a pain. Anyway, I’ll definitely read this now!

    • nkeda14 December 17, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

      I liked Across The Universe, but A Long Long Sleep doesn’t share much with it, other than the sci-fi element. They are really different. I loved this (if you couldn’t tell)! I can’t wait to hear what you thought of it, but I warn you it doesn’t get REALLY good until the last quarter. So don’t think “Ally is totally off her rocker” until you finish 🙂

      • Brigid December 17, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

        I also liked Across the Universe. It just kind of pissed me off a lot… especially at the end. lol. Haha of course, I believe you. I’ll let you know what I think once I read it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

