Novel Idea Awards: Best Blog Series!

26 Dec

Hey, it’s time for the first badge award on Novel Ideas!

My first award is for best blog series of 2011! This was a really hard choice for me, but I finally decided on a series from “Of a Writerly Sort” called “Lessons from the Monster“.

Basically it’s a dissection series where Gabrielle (OAWS admin) dissects her seven part series of novels (which she calls ‘the monster’), and shows us what we can learn from her mistakes.

I chose this series for a lot of reasons, but my main two were these:

1. It’s extremely educational. I learned a lot listening to Gabby dissect her novel scene by scene, or even line by line. I’m a person who learns well being shown things, rather than being told, so having an example right in front of me really let the information sink.

2. It was amazing that she was willing to share her first/second draft material with us! It takes serious guts for me to send off a 5th draft to betas, so sharing unedited portions of a novel with my readers would scare the bageebers out of me! Gabrielle’s bravery definitely paid off, and I really appreciated it!

For both of those reasons, and many others (like the fact that her whole site is amazing for instance!) I am now bestowing the Best Blog Series of 2011 to Gabrielle for “Lessons From the Monster

Here is your badge Gabrielle! Enjoy!

I hope you all check out Gabby’s series, and stay tuned for the next NI award!

REMINDER:

Remember to comment on this post and other Novel Idea Award’s posts for a chance to win SHATTER ME!

And be sure to enter the ON THIN ICE FLASH FICTION CONTEST for a chance to win CLOCKWORK PRINCE BY CASSANDRA CLARE!

2 Responses to “Novel Idea Awards: Best Blog Series!”

  1. gabriellan December 26, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Ally, I can’t believe you chose me! I’m wearing this gigantic, maniacal grin right now 🙂 Thank you! And that badge is fabulous!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Finished California Girl! | Of a Writerly Sort - December 28, 2011

    […] wonder of finishing this book (which has had about a bazillion false starts) wasn’t enough, I was awarded a blog badge from the awesome Ally over at Novel Ideas! Happiest week of my […]

Leave a Reply

