I Read – I Reviewed – I Conquered

29 Dec

BOOK AWARDS 2011

There are only two days left in December, and so, it’s time to see what exactly I’ve spent my time reading this year, and which books are worth YOUR time to read next year. So I present to you (A NOVEL IDEAS AWARDS segment) The 2011 Book Awards!

*crickets*

*Applause*

Lets start with some pictures. These are the books I read this year (Photos courtesy of GoodReads):

40 books, not ridiculously impressive, but I’m not terribly upset with myself over it.

Anyway onto the awards:

First up:

“The Clever Character Award”

This award is about my favorite character of the year. And this year it happens to be about a smart Alec the guy or gal in the book that you can’t help but balk at. The one you can count on to lighten the dampest mood with sarcasm, the life of the party, they are the one that make you laugh out loud while reading in public, and even though the guy on the subway is staring at you like your manic you can’t stop… Yeah that character. And this year that award goes to:

PUCK from the IRON FEY Series by Julie Kagawa!

I Loved this series, and Puck was my favorite character out of all the wonderful characters in it. Puck via Kagawa got this award because, I swear, every chapter I had something to laugh at from him, and he is possibly one of my favorite characters of all time. One of my favorite Puck Lines:

“Good idea,” Puck echoed from the back of the cave. “Why don’t you take first watch, prince? You could actually be doing something that doesn’t make me want to gouge my eyes out with a spork.”

*Spork! haha… ohh Puck you kill me!*

Next Award!

The “Take A Deep Breath Award”

This Award is for the book that freaked me out the most, or I guess I shouldn’t say ‘freaked me out’, but it’s for the book that was kind of heavy, made me think. You know, the book that after you close the page you feel like you have to take a really deep breath and kind of just collect yourself, because your pretty sure little pieces of your psyche are chipped away in between the pages. Yep… that’s THIS book.

And this year it goes to:

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

This book was probably the ‘heaviest’ (metaphorically speaking) book I’ve read all year. The ending  caused me to read the last page twice, just to make sure what happened actually happened, and after that I just kind of stared at the back cover for a while. It was a really good book, but only if  you’re looking for something serious to read. There are no Pucks to be found here…

Our final award for tonight is:

The “Originally Speaking Award”

This Award is, well, for what I thought was the most ‘original idea’ for the books I’ve read this year. Or I guess I should say original let’s go with the most ‘different’ idea.

And that award is definitely earned by: Maggie Stiefvater in The Scorpio Races!

Maggie’s new book about Killer Water Horses, Love, Racing, and Irish pastries  is definitely a horse of a different color. (Haha- did you get it? Did you get it?!) I got really swept up in Maggie’s vivid world of dark oceans, blood-red beaches, and coal colored horses. I can honestly say I have never read anything like it. Even going into such an odd premise, it wasn’t what I expected, because it’s not really about Killer Water Horses, or Love, or racing, or Irish pastries. It’s also not about Scorpios. It’s about finding out what you want, and what you need, and sometimes those things are the same. Sometimes they are not. Sometimes you don’t get them. Sometimes you do. And, sometimes when you get them it’s not in the way you expect. That’s what it’s really about. Or maybe, I just can’t read… though that seems unlikely…

Anyway, The Scorpio Races was amazing and I highly recommend it!

Part II of the 2011 Book Awards will be out tomorrow, (since this post is already long) until then check out the above books, and tomorrow be ready for some more good, some bad, and some sad.

REMINDER:

Remember to comment on this post and other Novel Idea Award’s posts for a chance to win SHATTER ME!

And be sure to enter the ON THIN ICE FLASH FICTION CONTEST for a chance to win CLOCKWORK PRINCE BY CASSANDRA CLARE! Ends January 15th!

3 Responses to “I Read – I Reviewed – I Conquered”

  1. gabriellan December 29, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    PUCK! I love him 🙂

    I keep seeing Before I Fall at my library, and I’m always this close to picking it up. Normally I like to read books with humor in them, although I like to read weighty books every once in awhile, and the cover, while pretty, seemed so solemn. But now I’m going to read it anyway! Haha.

    • nkeda14 December 30, 2011 at 12:17 am #

      Puck is a favorite of mine! 🙂

      And yeah, you should read it, but be prepared to just kind of feel blank after. It’s good, but really heavy!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Read – I Reviewed – I Conquered: Part II « NOVEL IDEAS - December 31, 2011

    […] Picking up where we left off yesterday, I’ll be finishing 2011 book Awards (see yesterdays post HERE). […]

Leave a Reply

