I Read – I Reviewed – I Conquered: Part II

31 Dec

Book Awards 2011 Part II

Hey all, I know I was supposed to post this yesterday, but unfortunately (or… well fortunately for me) I began reading Wither yesterday afternoon, and I had intended to post that evening. Ha! Right! I spent the rest of the afternoon, and evening (and… admittedly into the deep hours of the night reading Wither) and so, there is my excuse for not posting. Now, onto the post, of which I did not post:

Picking up where we left off yesterday, I’ll be finishing 2011 book Awards (see yesterdays post HERE).

Our first award of the night is:

“The Cutest Couple Award”

I don’t mean to take you all back to your highschool year book, but I had to come to this award. I read too much YA to avoid it, and honestly, you know you have a cutest couple in your head right now. Admit it. Anyway, I’m giving this award to:

Max & Dylan from James Patterson’s ANGEL ( Maximum ride book #7)

I am admittedly a Fang Girl, but book 7 is really turning the tables. Max and Dylan had the cutest chemistry, and honestly I may be going from the dark side to the Dylan side… Scary, yes. Anyway, I really enjoyed the cute, if not awkward relationship between Max and Dylan. It was a nice change from the usual intense infatuation of  YA romance, and if you haven’t gotten around to reading the Maximum ride books yet, you might want to crawl out from under that rock you’ve been living beneath and join the rest of the free YA world. I can’t wait for book 8! *squee!*

Our next award is

“The Teary Page Turner

This award is for the saddest book I’ve read all year, or the book that made me cry the most. Let me tell you, you have to be pretty good to get me going, because I usually don’t cry when reading books (I’m more the hyperventilating type), but I actually had three or four that got to me this year, so it made this decision really hard, but I’m giving this one to:

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa

This is the third book in Kagawa’s series, and I won’t say much as not to ruin it, but I just have to say I cried like a little girl at the end. I was actually worked up for a little over a half hour about this one guys. It was made even worse by the fact that I had to wait 6 months for the next one in the series! So if you read this series (which I recommend you do, beware of book 3…  enough said.)

Next, I’m going to be giving the

“Bad to the Bone Award”

This award is for the baddest of the bad. The best (or… maybe I mean worst?) antagonist of the year. After all where would are hero’s be without their bad intentioned brethren?

This was a hard choice for me, but I finally decided upon:

Sweetly by Jackson Pearce

The bad guys(and gals)  in here don’t get much badder. I mean what’s worse than kidnapping killers that don’t happen to look any more harmless than your average Joe walking down the street. I mean an average joe with super strength and shape shifting powers! I was scared silly by Pearce’s antagonists, and (unwisely) stayed up into the wee hours of the morning trying not to flinch every time the wind would blow! If Jackson to do anything its scare me!

And now, we have our last two awards of the night (and the year) The BEST and the WORST book I read in 2011.

My Least Favorite Book of  2011:

Num8ers by Rachel Ward

Let me start by saying that this is just MY opinion, and my two cents is only worth as much as anyone elses on the street. But, I honestly could not finish Num8ers. I wish I could say that I found something about it redeemable, but considering I only made it about 150 pages in, I really don’t think I can. I ALWAYS finish books ALWAYS. It has to be pretty bad for me to set something down, and, well, I set it down.

To end on a happy note, My Favorite Book of 2011:

A photo of my personal copy

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I made a concentrated effort this year to read some classics. I managed to make it through the Odyssey, I’m not exactly sure how, and read some lesser-read plays by Shakespeare that I really liked (The Taming of the Shrew being one of them ‘come and kiss me Kate!’) but I was most surprised and pleased with The Secret Garden by Frances Burnett. As a child, I LOVED the movies. I mean really LOVED them.  I watched them every week (when my mother could stand it) and my love for the movies hadn’t faded with time, so I decided to give the book a try. I was not disappointed! Collin (our snotty and hilariously rude little invalid) is every bit as snotty and hilarious as he was in the movies, if not more so. I was very swept up in the mystery of the mansion and the magic of the gardens with Miss Mary. This will remain one of my favorites, and it’s on my re-read list for this year!

I hope you all enjoyed the Novel Idea awards, and had a very happy 2011.

Wishing you all the best in 2012, enjoy your new year!

2 Responses to “I Read – I Reviewed – I Conquered: Part II”

  1. gabriellan January 2, 2012 at 2:24 am #

    I shouldn’t even get started on how much I love the Maximum Ride books. My sister and I read them all together ages ago, and we still quote them to this day. I thought I wasn’t going to like Dylan at first, since he was messing up the whole Flock dynamic, but I love him now. He’s so sweet. Angel creeps me out sometimes, though. If there was a “Most Likely to Stab Max in the Back” award, Angel would win it.

  2. harmamae January 2, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    I always make it my goal to read more classics, and I always only partially succeed (does re-reading Pride and Prejudice for the thousandth time count?) But I remember loving ‘The Secret Garden’ when I read it too.

Leave a Reply

