After You Read THE HUNGER GAMES…

19 Mar

After you read the hunger games a number of things happen that you can not seem to control.

1. Every time you see a girl with a braid your thinking “Katniss!”

2. For the rest of your life you will think of Peeta (the guy) whenever anyone mentions Peta bread. It’s inevitable, because not only is his name Peeta, but he actually makes bread too, so… yeah.

3. For a brief period of time you actually begin thinking that a real Hunger Games would be epic. Then you realize what you’re thinking and secretly beg Katniss for forgivness.

4. Every time you see a bow and arrow you think ‘Katniss’.

5. You forever associate mockingbird with mocking-jay. A fatal mistake, because despite how much more awesome To Kill a Mockingbird would be if it was titled To Kill a Mocking-jay you would ruin some American literature.

6. If you ever catch your hair on fire you will refer to yourself as the ‘girl (or guy) who was on fire’….. okay maybe not everyone has done this, but one time when I went to blow out a candle my hair caught, and  it was a perfect excuse to say that.

7. Every song you hear for the next week will be in some way associated with THE HUNGER GAMES. I’ve tried to stop it. Doesn’t work.

8. For about a month after reading you will desperately want to learn archery. DESPERATELY. Because if Katniss can do it, you can too, right? And how hard can it be? I mean, you just pull the string back and… zinnngggg! Maybe not, but I really do want to learn archery now.

9. Whenever you go out into a wooded area (for at least a week or two after reading) you will be scanning the area waiting for Cato to come out and club you to death.

10. You will want to learn to swing from tree to tree like Rue. I cannot imagine how totally fun that would be! climbing trees, swinging from branches. Yep, they all seem like good options after reading THE HUNGER GAMES. That is, until you get two branches up and realize how very far away the ground is and that your stuck.

That’s what happened to me after reading anyway. Anybody else have a similar experience? Did I miss any big ones?

6 Responses to “After You Read THE HUNGER GAMES…”

  1. Sarah March 19, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    I have definitely done #1 and #5!! 🙂 Ah I can’t wait for the movie to come out!

    • nkeda14 March 19, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

      I know! I’m going to the midnight premier and am totally psyched!

  2. Kylie March 19, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

    Hooray for midnight premieres! I also am going…decked out in magnificent HG shirt my best friend made for me and the mockingjay necklace my ex made for me in his welding class. Should be awesome.

    Hehehehe….number 3. I’ve so done that (and a lot of the others). Once I had this dream about it that was so vivid I still thought I was in the Games for several minutes after I woke up, and when I opened my eyes I was really confused and (sadly) kind of disappointed.

    • nkeda14 March 20, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

      Oh awesome! I made my own shirt too, and will probably post it with some other premier pics of me and my friends along with a movie review on Friday.

      LOL and I’ve had those dreams too! Mine are the best! 🙂

  3. harmamae March 20, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    I think I have to read this book when I find the time 🙂

    • nkeda14 March 21, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      YESSSS!!!!! I can’t believe you haven’t read it! Good God! Your behind the times. Haha, just kidding, but seriously read it before you see the movie!

Leave a Reply

