In which I Complain About the Hunger Games Movie… Or do I?

1 Apr

I hand painted this T shirt for THG!

One of the most anticipated books of the year, finally, finally released onto the big screen. Thousands of fans have waited for MONTHS for the release of The Hunger Games Movie, and I’m no exception.

I attended the Midnight premier of the movie two weeks ago, ready to be terribly and utterly disappointed. I know we all get our hopes up, but who are we kidding? We really just want something to complain about. And Hollywood ruining one of the best YA novels of the last ten years is a great excuse.

But something went wrong, because my hope was not totally crushed! My thought process went much like this:

Okay… opening lions gate thing…so far so good… Holy crap!  That- this scenery it- it actually reassembles the district twelve in my mind!What? They actually got an actress who can… ACT. Oh my! And-and wow they didn’t totally botch the plot! WHAT IS HAPPENING! *shock and awe*

In other words, I was kind of presently surprised when seeing The Hunger Games on the silver screen. Jennifer Lawerence did an AMAZING job. I mean, the girl can act. We didn’t get another blank

Front of my hand painted THG shirt

faced ‘I can act if I play myself’ teeny bopper. We got Jennifer Lawerence, and she blew my mind. I honestly started freaking out as she started screaming after Prim’s name was called. I had chills.

Wow.

Honestly most of the acting was spot on. The guy they got to play Cato for instance. Holy crude. I was scared of him! In a good way. Like, yep he’s definitely a career, (a hot one by the way) way. Glimmer, Foxface, all of them really. I actually could not have thought up a better cast.

Now, for all it’s job-well-dones (which include (as I said) much of the casting, setting, and general stick-to-it-ness of the book’s plot) it did have a bit of a fault. Some Chemistry issues.

I could not buy Josh Hutchinson in some of the scenes. I’m not sure if it was just his acting put up next to Jennifer’s (which really isn’t fair because she’s just that awesome) or if it was my extreme giddy critical readers eye-ness. But at the ending scene where they are both about to eat the berries that will – you know- KILL them. Josh starts playing with Jennifers hair. I just kind of balked at the screen for a moment. I’m thinking: Your about to die and… Your-your playing with her hair?Right… Okay. I buy that. But to give Josh credit other than a few awkward moments with the chemistry he did a good job. I mean acting opposite of Jennifer can’t be an easy task.

Also, I was hoping for more kissing. Yes, more kissing would have been good.

Other than that and a few minor plot changes/switches (such as the way Katniss receives the Mockingjay pin, and the rebellion of district 11  jumping from book two to book one) the movie was pretty good.

So, sadly. I’m here to admit that I don’t have much to complain about. Sad, since I dearly love to complain.**

But laughing at some awkward moments will have to do.

** threw in an allusion to Pride and Prejudice there.

Have you all seen it yet? Thoughts?

3 Responses to “In which I Complain About the Hunger Games Movie… Or do I?”

  1. quix689 April 1, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    I actually really enjoyed the movie. Like you, I was prepared to be disappointed, and I was pleasantly surprised when I wasn’t. I thought the scene between Katniss and Peeta on the train when they meet with Haymitch was a bit more awkward than it was in the book, but otherwise I felt they did a great job. For once I could actually understand the moments where it deviated from the book. For instance, the mayor’s daughter (I can’t believe I forgot her name!) isn’t really a huge character, and her character doesn’t really go anywhere in the book, so I understand why they cut it. And I loved that they showed the rebellion starting already. I wish they had shown her get the bread from Rue’s district, but the rebellion was great.

    They did such a great job with it (at least in my opinion) that for once I’m okay with having nothing to complain about. Instead, I’ll just complain that they didn’t do as great a job with Harry Potter as they did with the Hunger Games. 😀

  2. lilacandivy April 2, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    I agree that the Katniss actor was amazing! Peeta not as much – he was all right when his hair was messy, but looked odd when it was slicked back. Yes the hair made a difference. 😛
    I did not like the very shaky camera work in the beginning, but fortunately that disappeared as the movie went on and only showed up when appropriate – during the action scenes.
    I think they did a fantastic job of staying true to the book! It would have been really sad if THG – such a great story – had been botched in the movie. Yes, they did a fantastic job. 😀 That being said, though, none of the relationships felt as deep, but I think that’s just because of the art medium. The movie simply could not portray the relationships as well as the first-person book.

  3. Anonymous April 11, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    I was impressed with the movie. If there is anything to comment on negatively, it was that it didn’t really show just how HUNGRY they were. Still, they did an excellent job getting the plot to work on film (which is more than can be said for poor Twilight!)

Leave a Reply

