Vacation Kills Me

21 Jun

Vacation always sends me to fiery doom.

Ironic? Indeed.

That’s not to say I don’t enjoy vacation. I do, it just kills my writing. And honestly it makes no sense. I have extra time to write. Super duper loads of extra time just piling up around me, so instead of writing, I do what? I sit around and muse on nothing. Well… not nothing. To be fair with myself, I have been thinking an awful lot about how  my story is going to go. But, that’s just brain building.

I haven’t gotten anything on paper… or… umm on-screen.

Instead, I sit on the beach, watch House, Rizzoli & Isles, and Burn Notice in the hotel, and also I take pictures. Lot’s of pictures. Too many pictures.

So, I’ve been on vacation for a week and a half now and have manage to do nothing but muse on plot possibilities, and write this post.  Sad isn’t it? I’ll just be glad when I get back home to my desk. Where I have a schedule and I can focus. The beach is also not conducive to electronics so transporting my lovely laptop out their wasn’t really an option anyway. Even if I could focus among the seagulls and screaming children.

The worse part?

I return home for one week from our family vacation, then I go on my own little vacation to Oregon.  I’m telling myself I’ll write while I’m there, but let’s be honest.

Anyone else have trouble writing on vacation?

5 Responses to “Vacation Kills Me”

  1. caitlinstern June 22, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    There’s nothing like free time to lead to procrastination. You keep thinking, I can do it later… But you can do it! Just don’t beat yourself up if you fail. 🙂

  2. Writer Jobs June 22, 2012 at 1:11 am #

    Another nice post today thanks. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a great day.

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today!

    Writers Wanted

  3. Brigid June 22, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Oh gosh, I thought I was the only one. Hahaha. It really doesn’t make sense, does it? It’s like, I have a ton of free time, so why am I writing nothing at all? I think maybe it’s because, since we have so much time, we’re just like, “Oh, I’ll have plenty of time to write later!” And then we also want to do the things we don’t really have time to do during the school year––like go outside, hang out with people, fool around on the Internet, watch a lot of TV, etc. So far this summer, I’ve actual been able to keep up my writing pretty well … and it’s because I have a specific time to write every night. I’ve been writing from 8-9 PM almost every day, and that has helped me a bit. So, maybe you should do something similar? I think it helps to have a time when you’re like, “Okay, right now is my writing time.” 🙂

    • nkeda14 June 22, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      Yes, so true. It’s a lot easier when I’m at my house rather than hotel jumping. I do need to have specific writing time though. You’re so right Brigid (as usual haha)!

  4. RaeAnn June 25, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    Same here.

Leave a Reply

