Apparently I Need a Cat to do This.

28 Jun

Does every writer have a cat? While perusing a couple of writing blogs I began wondering this, and as I continued my daily rounds I realized it was true. Holy crap! Beth Revis has a cat! so does Maggie Stiefvater, and Libba Bray, and holy crud Jackson Pearce’s site even advertises her cat ownership!

I was utterly shell-shocked.  I do not have a cat to lay on my keyboard and interrupt my writing, I realized. All I have is an overweight coyote looking dog that lays next to my desk and snorts in her sleep. If she tried to lay on my keyboard she’d break the computer!

As I continued to mope over my overweight dog I came to the realization that I also don’t drink coffee or tea… I don’t

My overweight coyote-looking dog.

even drink mountain dew! Every writer on earth seems to mutter over sipping on coffee or stirring their tea as they write at their desk in the morning or haul through a tough NaNo night. Me? i hate coffee and tea.

So there I am, Cat-less, and ready to go brew a thing of coffee just to let it go cold on my desk when  I realized something. If I had a cat instead of my bum-ish over fed dog I would probably be chasing it off the keyboard every five seconds or teasing it with catnip. And on top of that if I was drinking coffee I would never be able to sit down. I get bad sugar highs and if you handed me a bottle of caffeine I would probably have a heartache attack and never write another word ever again.

So, I came to the conclusion that even though I apparently need a cat to do this thing called writing. It’s probably a good thing I don’t have one.

Anyone else notice habits writers have that you don’t?

16 Responses to “Apparently I Need a Cat to do This.”

  1. Brigid June 28, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    Haha, although I love cats, I don’t have one either. (But I probably would if cats were allowed in my house … we’re not allowed to have pets because we’re renters and yada yada all that complicated stuff.) Anyway, yeah it is kind of weird that so many writers have cats.

    Hmm I love coffee and tea. I drink tons of coffee, although I’m trying to cut down a bit. I don’t know, I can’t really think of typical writer habits that I don’t have … but I can’t really think of a lot of typical writer habits I guess. XD

  2. wordsurfer June 29, 2012 at 4:17 am #

    Wow, that really explains a lot of things… I do drink both coffee and tea, but I’m totally catless! Maybe we should look into getting a virtual cat? D’you think that counts? 🙂

  3. quix689 June 29, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Haha. I love both coffee and tea, though I rarely actually drink them while writing. I make some, have a sip or two, and then the cup just sits there, untouched. I think I feel more writerly when it’s next to me, even if I’m not actually drinking it. I think I’m weird in that respect. I don’t have a cat, but I’ve always wanted one. I’ll say that counts. 🙂

    I would probably have a longer list if I didn’t read the NaNo forums and start doing the things that other writers said they did. I figured if I felt like a writer I would actually, you know, write. It seems to have helped a little. Although I will say that I don’t actually have conversations with my characters. I put myself in their heads and daydream as if I were them, but I don’t talk to them, nor do I dress like them or anything like that.

  4. Kylie June 29, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    I love cats and want one eventually, but don’t have one now. I don’t drink tea or coffee for religious reasons. BUT I think that most writers fit at least one aspect of the ‘writer’ stereotype.

    • Bryn July 10, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

      I don’t drink either for religious reasons too! (are you a member the church of Jesus Christ of Latter day saints?) haha, I don’ have a cat, though I love to write. I have a mini Yorkiepoo who looks like a cat sorta.

      • Jadziab July 17, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

        Bryn, that’s why I don’t drink coffee or tea either. But I hate the smell of them, so if it weren’t for my religion, I probably wouldn’t drink the stuff anyway.

        I don’t have a cat, but I have two large golden retrievers and they would probably love to sit in my lap or on the keyboard, but they’re outside dogs. Love them to death though.

        One habit a lot of writer have is to plan out their novels first. I don’t do that. I just write and see where it goes. It’s worked so far!

  5. gabriellan June 29, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    I’m not a cat girl. Maybe what I should do is just get a really small dog that was raised with cats so it thinks it is one and will act like one. Just a thought 🙂 I don’t drink coffee either, although I do like tea, but I only drink it in the winter. We need to make up a whole new set of writer’s habits that actually apply to us!

    • nkeda14 June 29, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

      Wow, that would be one confused dog Gabs! haha! And yes we should. To begin, rule number one is: can be categorized as a horse fanatic. 😉

      • gabriellan June 29, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

        Excellent rule! Rule number two: can typically be found with a bottle of Dr. Pepper on her desk (a safe distance from her computer)

      • nkeda14 June 29, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

        Oh excellent! Rule number three: Has a life time supply of post-it notes!

      • gabriellan June 29, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

        Extra points if said post-its are in neon colors! Rule number four: The first place they go in stores is the aisle with cool notebooks!

      • nkeda14 June 30, 2012 at 10:22 am #

        Haha they are neon! And rule number five: that isle is quickly followed by the book isle!

  6. Naomi July 1, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    Aw, I have two cats and I’m forever drinking tea!
    I love having my cats with me when I write. Well, ok that’s a lie, I like having my cats asleep next to me when I write. Lily likes to walk all over my keyboard to get my attention, and Tabby likes to try and lick my face, and she also likes to go to sleep suckling on one of my fingers, which doesn’t make typing too easy, but I definitely enjoy having them with me, same way I do as when I’m reading a book. They may be slightly attention seeking but at least they aren’t noisy, so they are pleasant company. Although Tabby has in fact figured out which button on my laptop is the off button (yes, seriously) and if I ignore her for two long, she will press it with her paw, thus turning off my laptop. I wish I was making this up, but she really does! And that is why you should save your documents regularly…
    I don’t think you need a cat to be a writer, but I think the reason so many writers have cats is because cat lovers tend to be more introverted, and writers do too, because it requires spending quite a bit of time alone, writing, and cats are good animals for doing that with, not to mention they make good hot water bottles!
    Personally, I love all animals and spend a lot of time with my dog, cats and horses, and the funny things they do are always good entertainment.

  7. Jennifer Mandelas July 3, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    I do drink tea, but I don’t have a cat, and have stipulations on when I allow myself to drink coffee. Hmmm, I wonder if there is a correlation about cats and motivation to write? My writing comes in spurts… Maybe I should look into that!

  8. juanvillagrana July 14, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    I have a cat, but it just stays outside and disappears and pops up in the most random places. I don’t really drink coffee, and I definitely don’t drink tea.
    I’ve noticed that a lot of writers have Apple laptops. The really thin ones!
    =)

    • nkeda14 July 14, 2012 at 12:40 am #

      I know! Ugh!! Can you say jealous?

      I can.

Leave a Reply

