20 Things Writers Do

29 Jul

1. Fall asleep thinking about characters and plots, but be too lazy to find a pen and paper and scribble it down because you’re just about to go to sleep. Wake up the next morning and forget about it, and have it haunt you all day.

2. Ease drop on other people’s conversations to get novel research.

3. Keep notebooks with tons of random facts in them. If you’re ever murdered and the police go through your stuff they will think you were crazy. Then someone will tell them you were a writer. OH.

4. smile randomly in public because you’ve just figured out your plot hole!

5.  Jump around the house and dance because you’ve finished your first draft! OMG It’s done!

7. Stare at the computer from across the room, and then never get up.

8. try to flatten dog-eared page in library books.

9. Look at baby names sites for hours and not be pregnant.

10.  Keep checking your word count. No. No, it hasn’t changed

11. Write a sentence. back space. repeat.

12. Kill people frequently… fictional people of course! … O.o

13.Embrace imaginary friends.

14. Space out. A LOT.

15. Let coffee/tea/soup/and food in general go cold if you take it to your desk. The computer is enough to fill anyone up. Not realize it and thirty minutes later take a sip…. ICK!

16. Miss major events in the world. Oh there an African-American president? Oh a guy just shot up the batman movie? Sorry! I was in a writing comma.

17. Yell at inanimate objects. Books, computers, imaginary people in your head.

18.Hoard notebooks.

19. Talk about writing to anyone who will listen. If they don’t who cares! Go on to forcibly tie them to a chair and tell them about writing anyway.

20. Not write,  make a blog post instead. Like this one.

8 Responses to “20 Things Writers Do”

  1. Zen July 30, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    Haha, so many things on this list are true! I tend to do 1, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17 and 18 quite a lot. Oh those pretty notebooks, how they call to us!

  2. Brigid Gorry-Hines July 30, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Lol! Hilarious and so true. I’m constantly worrying that someone will see my Google history … Oh, the things I research for writing. Haha, one time I was talking to my friend in public and I was talking about one of my characters like, “I dunno, I might kill him… Only if I have to.” And then I started to realize how crazy I must have sounded to the people around us . 😉

  3. Justin July 30, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    This is great laughed so hard just what I needed! Slot of these are so true.

    One that I do often is act like a character Im writing. I guess im so focused on the role that I sort of follow them in real life. Keeps wife and kids entertaied =)

  4. quix689 July 30, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    So many of these describe me! I’ve had to start keeping a notebook next to my bed because I kept waking up in the middle of the night with a good idea, thinking ‘oh, I’ll remember it in the morning,’ and then forgetting it. At least I just found the 17 cent notebooks at Walmart, so I have a lot of notebooks to spare!

    And I freaked my mom out by looking at baby name websites. And I almost always have a half-empty cup of cold coffee next to me when I write. I can’t write without it. For some reason, just having an empty cup next to me doesn’t work as well. 🙂

  5. Kylie July 30, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    I do every single one of these. If the anyone ever went through my search history, they’d think I was a serial killer. I can’t stand to get rid of any of my notebooks! I always go through them, intending to get rid of a few, but then I find something good and think “I know I can use this someday! Keep it!”

  6. juanvillagrana August 4, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    2, 10, 11, 14 and 19 are pretty much what I’m made of! Haha, what on earth has become of me?
    Great post!
    =)

  7. gabriellan August 6, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    12 is all me. I think I have a problem with it. Haha. And 17 describes me way too well. I talk to my computer the entire time I’m writing, and occasionally apologize for yelling at/calling her names. And see, I even gave her a name. Good old Tasha 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On Critique Partners | Of a Writerly Sort - August 6, 2012

    […] having some breakthroughs, L.L McKinney got an agent, and Allie hit the nail on the head with 20 things writers do. What’ve you been up? Share this:TwitterFacebookEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

Leave a Reply

