My Feelings about Matched by Allie Condie

13 Sep

Post: 3/17

So Yesterday I wrote a post about books people love that I hate/hate that  I love. In that post I brought up the book Matched by Allie Condie, who you probably know got rave reviews and bunches of hype for her Matched series. I hated it and said as much. One of my readers asked why and I began to respond in a comment and then realized that it was much too long, and so you get what you see here today.

Where to begin with this…

I’m sorry, if you loved this book because I’m going to have to rip it to shreds right now. I apologize in advance.

To start off, the whole book just ticked me off because I love Lowis Lowry to death. I have read The Giver six times and it’s amazing and she’s amazing and… yeah. You get it right? So when I read Matched I wanted to go club whoever let it out of the slush pile because I saw so much of the work being dead on The Giver. It’s a society where your job/mate is choosen for you, the fact that you have to take ‘pills’ to suppress your natural emotions and sedate your brain. Anything half way decent in that book was ripped right out of the giver and then basted in Condie’s particular brand of bland.

Besides this ,Condie decided to spice things up with a little forbidden reading/books (*ehm* also from The Giver). The MC’s only redeeming quality is that she likes poetry but the reasons behind this rebellious behavior are hidden in the soup of Allie Condie’s pacing. For some reason she throws in Dylan Thomas’ poem “Do not go gentle into that good night” and okay I guess I get it (its a dystopian, the poems about not submitting to authority), but… just WHY? WHY! Why did you throw a piece of (really overused in the first place) literature. It was like throwing a pretty dress in the mud because you thought it’d make the mud look better. All you’re doing is ruining the dress.

On the same note with the fact that the poetry is completely irrelevant since we have no reason other than the MC’s grandfather’s death*(if i remember correctly) for her to like it  we equally have no reason for her to like Ky over Xander. It made less than zero sense to me! The only reason she starts to like Ky anyway is because the ‘society’ has a glitch in her Match card (that tells her about her match) and so it totally defeats the purpose of her rebelling since the idea came from the society in the first place! Besides that, why would Ky’s information even have been in the same pool to match with her if he was a lowly worker? It doesn’t make sense. There’s no way that the computer/matchers (or whoever matches people ,I forget how it happens) would have those two sets of data in the same place. So, yeah, GAPING PLOT HOLE!

Then when Ky and the MC do get together I just found the romance so BLAH. I didn’t really like Ky in the first place. Xander was obviously a better choice. Neither of them had much personality, but at least Xander was kind of happy go lucky! Then Ky is banished or sent away and the MC is all: boo hoo! Then the Peace keepers (or whoever the law enforcers are) come in and are like, “take these pills now!” and so she hides her pill and doesn’t take it. OOOOHHHHH rebellion! Not really, keep reciting your poetry dear.

Anyway I just really hated it and it made me beat my head against my desk and cry wondering how she got a million dollar contract for THAT.

Now, for those of you who loved the book, feel free to yell at me and tell me why I am wrong! I love a good debate 🙂

*The euthanization of old people, yeah, that’s from The Giver too. Just saying.

12 Responses to “My Feelings about Matched by Allie Condie”

  1. Brigid September 13, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    I was quite let down by Matched, too. It had all this hype surrounding it and then it was so … blah. So yeah, I agree. A lot of it was very similar to The Giver, and otherwise I just found it rather boring and uneventful, and the romance felt forced. Not my cup of tea, either. So, you’re definitely not alone!

    • nkeda14 September 14, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Well at least I know I’m not crazy! HAHA

  2. gabriellan September 13, 2012 at 11:54 pm #

    I’ve never read Matched, so I don’t have an opinion on it, but that throwing a dress in the mud analogy made me laugh 🙂

    • nkeda14 September 14, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      Count yourself lucky that you haven’t. And thank you, I’m thinking of going into stand up comedy as we speak. LOL! By the way, I love the new pic Gabbs! 😉

      • gabriellan September 14, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

        Haha. Thanks! I figured it was time to let the crazy out 🙂

  3. Naomi September 14, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    Long time, no comment! I have been reading your posts from my phone and commenting from it isn’t as simple.
    Although I haven’t read Matched or The Giver, the whole thing to me with the pills and having your future decided by a computer sounds an awful lot like Sleepwalking, and I’m afraid I can’t remember the author’s name. Books also figure in it, computers base their knowledge of how things should be in the world on books, and the problem is that the top book the computers use is 1984. But I feel you about the whole copying thing, recently I was at my cousin’s house and she was watching this crappy disney film, lemonade stand I think it was, and it was a complete rip off of the absolute classic The Breakfast Club, only with some singing thrown in. Appalling.

    • nkeda14 September 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      Glad to see you rejoining us Naomi! I haven’t read Sleepwalking, I’ll have to look into it. And yes Disney has made many appalling films but don’t get me started on that. Haha

  4. wordsurfer September 14, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    I haven’t read Matched, so can’t really comment on that aspect, but I read ‘The Giver’ as a kid and loved it, so the idea of someone copying it (in a bad way) is not very nice.
    In general, I don’t like bad copies of a great original, but unfortunately, what’s good or bad is often in the eye of the beholder. Also, ‘copying’ is part of art. I agree, however, that you should bring your own ideas and your own approach if you do a cover of something already existing (this goes for novels, poems, songs, paintings, …) and if you cannot contribute anything original, just leave it.

    • nkeda14 September 14, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      I suppose that’s kind of like ‘if you can’t say anything nice don’t say anything at all’ but as you can see Ally Condie ignored the idea of original contributions, and I ignored the idea of being nice. I guess we are just rebels! 😉

  5. lilacandivy September 14, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    Ha ha, thank you for sharing your opinion! We will agree to disagree. 🙂 I liked the main character, and how the author used that poem “do not go gentle…rage, rage…”. It ran through my head for weeks after. And yes, I have read the Giver, but I feel like the two books were different enough that I could enjoy the dystopian society Condie created.
    One book that would have been unmemorable to me if it weren’t for its DREADFUL ending is “The Princetta” by Anne-Laure Bondoux. Just goes to show that a pretty cover does not a good book make! 😛

    • nkeda14 September 14, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      True, True. We all have opinions. I haven’t read “The Princetta”, but I’ll steer clear of it now, thanks for the heads up!

  6. juanvillagrana September 18, 2012 at 2:16 am #

    Oh, MATCHED.

    Okay, to be honest–and I *know* I blogged about this, sadly enough–I loved this book when I first read it. Enough to tweet about how awesome it was. -___-

    BUT! I picked up CROSSED last year and didn’t read it until like three months ago, and my views on the series totally changed. I looked back at MATCHED–as well as a couple other books I loved a few years ago–and realized just how…”eh” it was. I even read a good portion of THE GIVER before my brother had to return it to his school’s library, and that alone further changed my opinion.

    Looking at it from a fresh perspective, there’s quite a bit that let me down.

    =)

Leave a Reply

