3 Writer’s Essentials

14 Sep

Post: 4/17

I’m so tired from this week, and so I’m just going to be a bum and make a list for today’s post. 3 cheers for my level of motivation! So here are three writer’s essentials.

1.Post it Notes. Why? Because they are genius! You can stick them in your car/bag/locker/notebook/planner and darn near anywhere else and instantly be able to have a place to write down ideas! On top of that they are colorful and who doesn’t like colorful paper squares? Crazies, that’s who.

2. A Fancy Pen. I feel like all writers need at least one fancy pen. It makes you feel all professional, and on-top of that it might make you like editing! (Yeah that’s a lie.) Even if it doesn’t, at least you can carry it around and look like you know what your doing, because honestly I rarely do. It just makes you feel writerly!

3. A Comfortable desk chair. I only say this because my pretty staples desk chair( of 4 years) broke and so I’m using a fold-able right now and my back has no support. This is no condition to sit in folks, especially when you are falling asleep at your desk. I never realized until now how much I desperately need a good chair. Thus, you need one too. If you’re spending hours in that chair it better be good!

That is all. Continue about your day citizens.

 

7 Responses to “3 Writer’s Essentials”

  1. sassandbalderdash September 14, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    I agree with all of these! I’m definitely a major post-it whore, and a fancy pen is a must-have. As is an office chair that has arms. I have no idea why they even make desk chairs without arms–it’s unnatural.

    • nkeda14 September 15, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

      Extremely unnatural! haha

  2. gabriellan September 14, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    A good desk chair is an absolute must. I hate the chair I have in my dorm, especially when I think about my awesome executive chair back at home. It supports my back perfectly and, most importantly, it spins!

    • nkeda14 September 15, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

      I’m jealous! I want one of those :/ now we both must suffer!

  3. quix689 September 15, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    I completely agree about the desk chair! The chair I have now is so horrible – there are no arms, no real back support, and it’s so hard and uncomfortable. I love writing at my desk, but I can only sit there for so long before my back starts hurting. It’s horrible. I need to look for a new one.

    That said, I definitely think a good pen is important. I would just replace post-its with a notebook. I can’t go anywhere without a notebook. When I try, I just feel so…lost. šŸ™‚

    • nkeda14 September 15, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      The only reason I prefer post its is because I hate larger purses and they are easy to switch from bag to bag. Plus, you can buy a bunch for 3 bucks and stick a pack in each place you need them. šŸ™‚ Notebooks are prettier though!

  4. juanvillagrana September 18, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    I’ve never used Post-its before, but I’m thinking I’ll have to use some soon. Or whenever I finish draft three of TLS. Never! Haha.

    Pens and notebooks are an absolute must for me, although I never carry my writing notebooks around with me because I lost one in my economics class last year. I didn’t even realize it until the next day, when I reached into my backpack to pull it out and…there was nothing. And let me tell you, my whole world fell apart in such a way that you’d think I’d just found out a loved one had died. Worst. Feeling. Ever.

    I couldn’t think straight, was too scared to think about what could have happened to it.

    LUCKILY, I found it later that day and things were back to normal.

    Hm. Maybe I’ll blog about that experience now.

    =)

Leave a Reply

