Quotes for Writers

21 Sep

Just got back from a homecoming dance and it’s 11:52  that means I must do a post quickly… so enjoy these lovely quotes about writing and writers! 🙂

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.

– Douglas Adams
It took me fifteen years to discover I had no talent for writing, but I couldn’t give it up because by that time I was too famous.
– Robert Benchley
Being a poet is one of the unhealthier jobs–no regular hours, so many temptations!
– Elizabeth Bishop

 

A best seller was a book which somehow sold well simply because it was selling well.
– S. Boorstein
Everybody walks past a thousand story ideas every day. The good writers are the ones who see five or six of them. Most people don’t see any.
– Orson Scott Card
I firmly believe every book was meant to be written.
– Marchette Chute
A word is dead
When it is said,
Some say.
I say it just begins
to live that day.
– Emily Dickinson
If you start with a bang, you won’t end with a whimper.

– T.S. Eliot
At one time I thought the most important thing was talent. I think now that the young man or the young woman must possess or teach himself, training himself, in infinite patience, which is to try and to try until it comes right. He must train himself in ruthless intolerance–that is to throw away anything that is false no matter how much he might love that page or that paragraph. The most important thing is insight, that is to be–curiosity–to wonder, to mull, and to muse why it is that man does what he does, and if you have that, then I don’t think the talent makes much difference, whether you’ve got it or not.

– William Faulkner
Don’t be dismayed by the opinions of editors, or critics. They are only the traffic cops of the arts.
– Gene Fowler
I try to create sympathy for my characters, then turn the monsters loose.
– Stephen King

 

Close the door. Write with no one looking over your shoulder. Don’t try to figure out what other people want to hear from you; figure out what you have to say. It’s the one and only thing you have to offer.
– Barbara Kingsolver
What are your favorite writing quotes?
Leave a Reply

